Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

TheHox

join:2012-05-31

1 edit

1 recommendation

6.6mile PTP link - hardware?

Again, Since I am still somewhat new to this, what suggestions for hardware for a 6.6 mile PTP link.

I have 2 100MB fiber connections on the tx side, looking to connect to one of them at the rx side (my house). I have a 60ft tower at the tx and a 75ft tower at the rx. Both sides just clear the trees and should have a LOS.

Intentions are using this for internet at my house, so I don't need all 100MB, but I'll take as much as I can get.

Going at least 5ghz, Powerbridge do the trick? There is another WISP in the area that has some links around town so 2.4ghz Im sure is noisy, 5ghz could be as well. Which would have good distance but be less susceptible to noise?
Figure I'd spend no more than $500

join:2011-04-18

1 recommendation

IMO the powerbridges are not worth it, I would use 2 NanobridgeM5 25dbi dishes, if your fresnel zone is clear you can push quite a bit of traffic over these.

Depending on what speeds you need, you can do 20, 30, or 40 mhz channel width assuming the high gain will keep interference low.

FWIW 20mhz typically can get me 50+mbps, 30/40 both get me closer to 70-80+.

Power bridges are also not certified for DFS useage, Nanobridges are. But at 6miles I dont know that this would matter.

jim_p_price7

join:2005-10-28
Henryetta, OK
reply to TheHox
+1 on the Nanobridge M5 25. If you need to know how the shot looks, drop the TX/RX coords in here and we can help you with a link analysis.

Inssomniak
The Glitch
Premium
join:2005-04-06
Cayuga, ON
kudos:2

1 recommendation

reply to TheHox
Ive done 11k links with nanobridge 25s, signal in the low 60s. You crank that to 40mhz wide and you will get a pile of BW thru it.

less than 200 bux a link.
--
OptionsDSL Wireless Internet
»www.optionsdsl.ca

John Galt
Forward, March
Premium
join:2004-09-30
Happy Camp
kudos:8
reply to TheHox
+1 on the NanoBridge 5M.