how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Tonice2007
Premium
join:2005-12-20
Brooklyn, NY

Question about Remote Support Software...

So, as a IT freelancer, I'm looking for remote support software, such as LogMeIn, RealVNC, etc. that I could use to support my clients, without have to be physically there to support them, which sometimes can be quite "costly" (transportation costs, and scheduling flexibility).

I was wondering, if anybody have any experience in this area, and could recommend a "platform" which I can use to fulfill my "requirements" of offering support remotely. Preferably something that supports the mobile platform (specifically Android) and is cost efficient, since mostly I charge by the hour, and it's kind of hard to "figure out" the charging price for each support issue.

aguen
Premium
join:2003-07-16
Grants Pass, OR
kudos:2

1 recommendation

Teamviewer supports RDP via software installed at both ends for use on unattended devices or where the local user(s) are maybe a little clueless. They also have a runtime only client (no install needed at the remote end) for users that are ab bit more savvy. They also have Apps. for Android/iPhone.

»www.teamviewer.com/en/download/mobile.aspx

anti_windoze

join:2001-07-08
Fontana, CA
reply to Tonice2007

i use teamviewer, has file transfer and switch sides also.

urbanriot
Premium
join:2004-10-18
Canada
kudos:3
Reviews:
·Cogeco Cable

1 edit
reply to Tonice2007

We've used both Bomgar and Teamviewer.

Bomgar was too cumbersome on the support side and annoying to try and walk regular users through providing us access so we dropped them for Teamviewer which has been sooo much easier. Edit: Although Bomgar has jump lists but we're not in the mood to spend time configuring.

Basically put a link on a web page to Teamviewer, tell your clients to go to your page, click 'download' and they give you a number and you're connected.