 | Microsoft bing so i decided to use the search engine...i typed in a forum i used to frewquent and i clicked it...instead or me ending up at the forum i was redirected to some weird polish site....
i typed the forum in google and i ended up at the forum....
i don't have malware because i formatted 1 week ago.... |
|
|
|
 DustynPremium join:2003-02-26 Ontario, CAN kudos:10 | What was the exact search term you typed into Microsoft Bing to produce your search results? I would like to try to reproduce this myself. What did you search for and what is the name of the forum? |
|
 | reply to SweetNoob okay i typed in myg0t and it's the 3rd result |
|
 1 edit | When I use the Bing search engine with Firefox l7.0.1 and click on the third link I get this. Looks like they are redoing the site for whatever reason. Gets to 97.74.244.25 in 7 hops. Virus total URL scanner is too busy to check history this morning.
Edit: Is this what you are looking for: »irc.mygot.com/ |
|
 | reply to SweetNoob well if you went to the forum yesterday and today it shows a message...there is a good chance the admin of the site is responsible.
It could have been a cross site scripting attack. |
|
 | i didn't think of that...it could have been cross site scripting.
i tried to replicate what happened today but to no avail....weird. |
|
 | reply to SweetNoob
This isnt the first time i've experienced something happen like that of this nature.
Couple of months ago i was on google researching some info....i clicked the google result...instead of ending up at the correct website....this little pop up happened.
i typed in the url normally and the website showed up.
This also occurred in google before. |
|
 | reply to SweetNoob upon further research i discovered
Almost two of every three malicious redirects in major search engines are found on Bing,
»searchengineland.com/study-malic···h-135730
Hahaha thanks once again microsoft  |
|
 DustynPremium join:2003-02-26 Ontario, CAN kudos:10 | This is where I was taken to, third result down on the Bing search engine. Is this the right page? All seems normal. |
|
 | reply to SweetNoob also i don't think it was a polish site the url ended with a .pl and was asking for some plugin to be installed. my guess is it was some perl script.... |
|
 | reply to SweetNoob yes it's correct. but on bing i clicked »forums.myg0t.com/ - apparently today the site admin removed the forums for upgrading.
It could've been the webmaster of the site. because after that i typed in myg0t.com and i was also redirected to a random site.
I closed my browser and clicked it from google and went to the forums yesterday all loaded fine.
Today i tried to replicate but they changed the index of the homepage
i have obsessive compulsive disorder...so because i could not replicate the error i am not sure if it was bing that caused it or the webmaster.
Anyway it's not important. |
|
 Dude111An Awesome DudePremium join:2003-08-04 USA kudos:11 | reply to SweetNoob
Hmm i wonder if they fixed the issue,i clicked the third result and when right to the page w/bing.. (Saying they were updating) |
|
 | reply to SweetNoob
Re: Microsoft bing i just don't understand how after the first redirect i typed the url into my browser and was redirected again. after i closed the browser and typed it into google finally i reached the site
this was a clean install of win 7....sigh |
|
 | reply to SweetNoob I concluded my dns cache was probably poisoned. |
|
 drewAutomaticPremium join:2002-07-10 Port Orchard, WA kudos:6 | reply to SweetNoob I really think that this is a sign that you should stop cheating at online games. |
|
 | hah
anyway i have also discovered
Manipulation by ISPs
A number of consumer ISPs such as OpenDNS,[2] Cablevision's Optimum Online,[3] Comcast,[4] Time Warner, Cox Communications, RCN,[5] Rogers,[6] Charter Communications, Verizon, Virgin Media, Frontier Communications, Bell Sympatico,[7] UPC,[8] T-Online,[9] Optus,[10] Mediacom,[11] ONO,[12] TalkTalk[13] and Bigpond (Telstra)[14][15][16][17] use DNS hijacking for their own purposes, such as displaying advertisements[18] or collecting statistics. This practice violates the RFC standard for DNS (NXDOMAIN) responses,[19] and can potentially open users to cross-site scripting attack |
|
 | reply to SweetNoob anyone know of any "Safe" alternative dns servers to use? |
|
 DustynPremium join:2003-02-26 Ontario, CAN kudos:10 | »DNS Servers »www.grc.com/dns/benchmark.htm The tool will help find the fastest DNS server and will show if it uses any type of redirection. |
|
 | reply to SweetNoob also i don't know if it was a drive by download, i formatted with dariks boot and nuke on quick and only reached 30 percent...did this clear the mbr? |
|
 Cartel join:2006-09-13 Chilliwack, BC kudos:2 Reviews:
·TekSavvy DSL
·Shaw
·TELUS
| reply to SweetNoob said by SweetNoob :This isnt the first time i've experienced something happen like that of this nature.
Couple of months ago i was on google researching some info....i clicked the google result...instead of ending up at the correct website....this little pop up happened.
i typed in the url normally and the website showed up.
This also occurred in google before. perform some action alright.......Get Firefox immediately. I hope you didn't click the X or OK or anything on that pop-up. |
|