how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

metropical

join:2011-05-27
Huntington, NY

[OOL] HPNA

I'm looking at one of these »goo.gl/k0gL5 and additional AirPort Base Station upstairs where coverage is weak.
There is no "acceptable" spot more central in the house for the base AirPort Extreme.
Does anyone know if this is a good fir with OOL?

metropical

Huntington, NY

or alternatively, another modem split upstairs before the cable box.

Scientific Atlanta DPC2100 / DPX2203

xirian
Premium
join:2003-01-26
Beacon, NY
kudos:1
reply to metropical

I have no experience with that adapter, but remember that if you add another modem, you have to pay another subscription fee for it every month ($44.99 for normal optimum) so after a few months It would end up cheaper to just run a wire.

RickNY
Premium
join:2000-11-02
Farmingville, NY
Reviews:
·Optimum Online
reply to metropical

Are you set on HPNA? I use 3 of these HomePlug adapters throughout the house where there is no or spotty wireless coverage, and get good results, including streaming of Netflix, Hulu Plus, Amazon video, etc through two Tivos. MRV also works well through them between the two Tivos.

»www.actiontec.com/products/produ···0J28Sj5w

$49 for a set of two, which will get you one Ethernet jack in a remote location.. Another $49 gets you two additional (one goes to the router). They have them at Best Buy

Rick

plat2on1

join:2002-08-21
Hopewell Junction, NY
reply to metropical

said by metropical:

I'm looking at one of these »goo.gl/k0gL5 and additional AirPort Base Station upstairs where coverage is weak.
There is no "acceptable" spot more central in the house for the base AirPort Extreme.

HPNA will not work on any line connected to cablevision. they work great if you have an unused coax line between the two locations though.

metropical

Huntington, NY

thanks. I did not know this.

metropical

Huntington, NY
reply to RickNY