how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

w1spfanatic

join:2013-01-11
Screven, GA

WISP Startup

First off, let me introduce myself. The name is Charles and I currently live in rural South Georgia. My passion for wireless communications has always been strong but 3 years ago I subscribed to a local WiMax provider (who tanked due to defaulting on a RUS loan) and the WISP bug bit me! Since then, I have gained an AAS ( Networking ), spent over a year in a small enterprise networking position, read and studied numerous blogs, forums, and white papers on the WISP topic ranging from hardware to software, and everything in between. I am currently studying to get my CCENT and CWTS certifications so I have an understanding of the technology and what ingredients are needed for the recipe.

So, with that being said I moved out to this rural area (Screven,GA) and decided to give Windstream DSL a shot before going with a VSAT connection. Well, to my dismay the DSL is not much better than the most horrible connection I have ever had. Yes, even worse than my 52kbps dial-up I had growing up as a child. This has led me to take on this challenge of providing an affordable broadband connection not just for my neighbors and other residents but for myself.

After doing some research,the previous WISP (Mainstreet Broadband) who defaulted on the RUS loan, closed shop and left ALL equipment intact at the city's water tower. They were using the 900Mhz band but I have chose to go the 2.4Ghz route. Most CPEs that I have seen installed around the area I'm sure can receive signal by going with the 2.4 band. The local fiber provider has quoted me at a decent price for a leased line since there is no construction involved. But, I still have a few questions and I was hoping someone generous would be willing to shed some light onto these "bumps" in the road for me.