Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

w1spfanatic

join:2013-01-11
Screven, GA
reply to w1spfanatic

Re: WISP Startup

Thanks for the input guys! It is MUCH appreciated!

I've done issued my farewell to my wife, but my son will be the problem lol. He'll understand as time goes.

As far as using the existing 900Mhz , that will be a challenge. It is currently property of the Feds. I've been trying to contact the person in charge of it to find out information on how to obtain the rights to strike that back up, but the safe goat would be lighting up my own 2.4 network.

And I have been looking at Mikrotik routerboards all morning and have picked a few good models.

This being my first choice.
RB2011L-INN »store.wisp-router.com/RB2011L-IN

As far as the web site & email server deal. I am new to that aspect of the game. I purchased the domain through GoDaddy and I'm deciding on a host and someone to assist me with all that.

WHT

join:2010-03-26
Rosston, TX
kudos:5

said by w1spfanatic:

I've done issued my farewell to my wife, but my son will be the problem lol. He'll understand as time goes.

Use wife for back office tech support and answering the phone.

Teach son how to use drill holes for cable entrance. Bring him t-shirts from out of town industry and tech shows.

A family that WISPs together...Stays together.

TomS_
Git-r-done
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-19
London, UK
kudos:5
reply to w1spfanatic

Im going to throw a suggestion in here regarding email and web hosting, so I dont really know what to expect, but ...

Ive been thinking some times I would like to start my own WISP, and if I did, what would I do to reduce administrative burden and cost?

The first thing I thought about was email. Email can be paiiinful, especially when you start receiving lots of spam, dealing with blacklists etc.

So my suggestion is: dont offer email to your customers unless they absolutely must have an email address on your domain, and if they do, charge for it.