how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Somersett

join:2004-12-04
Scotland

Microsoft Security Essentials - Unable To Install

I have been running Microsoft Security Essentials for several months without any issues. However, I noticed yesterday that it was not downloading and updating the new virus definitions. I uninstalled the programme ( using the Add / Remove ) and then reinstalled it but it would still not update to the latest definitions. I uninstalled it for a second time and now when I attempt to reinstall it I am receiving the message " Microsoft Security Essentials - Cannot complete the Security Installation - An error has prevented the Wizard from completing successfully - Error Code 0x80070643."

Operating System is Windows Vista Home Premium with Service Pack 2.

I have scanned the computer with Eset Online Scanner and Malwarebytes Pro and there is no sign of any infection.

Somersett

Scotland

1 recommendation

Would this be better in the Microsoft Help Forum and if so can it be transferred across?

LadyL
Premium
join:2002-09-18
Lorain, OH
Reviews:
·Time Warner Cable
reply to Somersett

I'm having the same problem as to the updating of defs...I still have '419', but according to the link via EGeezer's section here...the latest is '436'. I downloaded it to 'run', and just checked the MSE software itself, and it's still at '419' !
I don't get any errors,etc...it just won't update.
--
Lonnie

LadyL
Premium
join:2002-09-18
Lorain, OH

1 recommendation

Just checked the update defs in MSE...from the systray icon...would you believe...it is now updated to '436'
--
Lonnie

Somersett

Scotland

1 recommendation

reply to LadyL

I have managed to re-install MSE since my last post but if I click on 'Update' it will only download definitions up to 1.143.376.0

I have manually updated to the latest definitions ( 1.143.436.0 ) using the following link.

»www.microsoft.com/security/porta···mse.aspx

Darth Bane

@bellaliant.net