spc
Search similar:

uniqs

rshapiro
@verizon.net

rshapiro

Anon

Want to switch from MoCa to CAT5, no STB's, just TiVo

Trying to see if this scenario was covered in faq and I don't see it. I have been using Fios happily for several years. Was recently chatting with a coworker about how I can't use the "guest mode" of my N router as it's not the primary router, the Actiontec is. He said, well, you don't need to use the actiontec as primary, just enabled CAT5 and go straight to the ONT. I never realize this possibility and I do have the connection on the ONT, so I want to consider this scenario. I do not have ANY Verizon boxes, I have 3 TiVo Premiers on Cable card. So, I don't need their guide data, nor do I need their VOD. Can I completely eliminate the actiontec and put my net gear directly to the ONT? This would be fantastic if I could, as I don't enjoy having an unnecessarily complex dual router setup. Right now, actiontec handles the addressing, but has wireless disabled. Thanks...
ScrawnyB
join:2004-05-18
Mechanicsburg, PA

ScrawnyB

Video comes over the COAX port, so you need to still get COAX to your TiVO. As long as you get that and whatever you TiVo needs (i'm presuming CAT5 for your guide data there), then you should be good to go.

MoCA is only needed really if you need STB data, so then you need to bridge the cat5e network with the coax ones. This is something you shouldn't need to worry about in this scenario, if I'm understanding you correctly.

More Fiber
MVM
join:2005-09-26
Cape Coral, FL

More Fiber to rshapiro

MVM

to rshapiro
said by rshapiro :

Trying to see if this scenario was covered in faq and I don't see it.

Covered thoroughly here:
»Verizon FiOS FAQ »What are the tradeoffs between the various router configurations

Not clear from your post if the Actiontec WAN connection is or coax. If via coax, then you'll have to have the cat5 port on the ONT activated:
»Verizon FiOS FAQ »Replacing the Actiontec (part 1): Coax to Ethernet