Click for full size
Base Section
Click for full size
Base looking up
Click for full size
Section connection point
Click for full size
Upper 3 sections
I am a firefighter with limited knowledge of towers and brands, however I need a structure similar to conduct some tower rescue type of training. We have done this before with similar products but they were all existing structures. This one I need to install indoors, probably using under 40' of the overall structure, however I can not find any plates or inscriptions on the tower to indicate the manufacturer brand or model. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The base of the tower measures 24 1/2" from center of tubes, about 26" overall width in 8' sections. The tubes appear to be 1.25" - 1.5" in diameter (tapered)

The upper section of the tower which is on the ground right now measures 16 1/2" on center and 18" overall, again in 8' sections with 1" - 1.25" diameter tubes.

voxframe

join:2010-08-02

1 recommendation

I wouldn't touch that thing. Regardless of how little of it you want to use, unless it was for scrap metal.

It's kind of the same concept as a helmet, harness, extinguisher (Non rechargeable ones)... Once it's been hit/used/accidented, it's garbage.

That thing has been banged around obviously, bent bars on the bottom.

I would not trust it, certainly not enough to climb it.

EDIT - The upper sections are a dead no-go in my mind, the bottom section I personally wouldn't touch, but I couldn't tell you how it would stack up. Even though it's still standing, it probably has been structurally stressed due to the top section being (What visibly looks like) torn off.

Bad vibe on the entire thing.

John Galt
Forward, March
Premium
join:2004-09-30
Happy Camp
kudos:8
reply to afd696
Voxframe is correct...crashed towers are NFG, for anything.

I'd suggest some new Rohn 45 or 55 for your training tower.

Representative pricing:

»www.texastowers.com/towers/guyed/rohn45g.htm