spc
uniqs

damonlab
Premium Member
join:2001-05-02
Detroit, MI

damonlab

Premium Member

Why do they want my social security number?

I tried to a signup and they said I had to either provide them my social security number, pay a deposit, or visit a service center. I do not like any of those options.
ExoticFish
join:2008-08-31
Zebulon, NC

ExoticFish

Credit check...

Don't like them ? Don't get service.

gar187er
I DID this for a living
join:2006-06-24
Seattle, WA

1 recommendation

gar187er to damonlab

to damonlab
said by damonlab:

I tried to a signup and they said I had to either provide them my social security number, pay a deposit, or visit a service center. I do not like any of those options.

youre not going to be able to get a car/cell phone/internet/shelter or many other things in life if you dont do at least 2 of those things.

Aozora
join:2008-11-28

1 recommendation

Aozora to damonlab

to damonlab
So they accidentally lose it or some lazy service person sells it on the black market. Trust me, the process you have through go to to fix anything with the government is hell. Everyone, as you can see on this forum, is more than happy to shell out their number so we have all these companies who "require" that you provide it to them.
djcrazy
Premium Member
join:2009-08-05
Minneapolis, MN

djcrazy to damonlab

Premium Member

to damonlab
This is so they can do a credit check. I didn't even know you could just pay a deposit in lieu of providing a SSN or I probably would have chosen this option. I have had service with them since they were AT&T ( Thank god that changed, I loath AT&T) so maybe that deposit option is new.

beachintech
There's sand in my tool bag
Premium Member
join:2008-01-06

beachintech

Premium Member

New for many years, sure.

IowaCowboy
Lost in the Supermarket
Premium Member
join:2010-10-16
Springfield, MA

IowaCowboy to damonlab

Premium Member

to damonlab