spc

spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

ThatDarnBear

join:2013-02-16

[Connectivity] Comcast hates my gaming life...

So...where to start? I'm a complete novice, so please break the jargon down into bite size pieces.

Last Friday the Comcast guy shows up to install my cable modem and TV box. I only got the TV as part of a deal; I could care less about it. I just wanted my high speed internet, largely for gaming on a variety of platforms. The installer left before I could even get internet service through the crappy modem, but he assured me the one I was being mailed would resolve the issue if customer service couldn't.

Wednesday I receive the new modem/router all-in-one; an Arris TG862. After hooking it up, I call customer service (now my third call to them) and finally, after a lengthy call, the rep realizes the unit hasn't been provisioned. Shortly thereafter I finally get internet service on my PC (which is directly connected to the router via Ethernet cable). So far so good.

I connect my phone to the WiFi. I head to the living room to connect my PS3 and Xbox 360. The PS3 connects nicely to the WiFi, but will not connect to PSN at all. It keeps saying it timed out. I come into the bedroom to get on the PC and look for solutions when I notice Steam has popped up saying it can't connect. I start reading from Google searches that people have trouble connecting their Xbox to this router as well. I try to log on to the Secret World MMO. Won't connect to their server. At this point I'm pretty pissed, but the final straw came when I went to log in to my Chase bank account and I can't even do transfers or pay bills.