spc
Search similar:

uniqs
steiney
join:2013-03-14

steiney

Some Questions From A Beginner

Hello all!

I just joined here and I am new to using a VPN although I've known about them for a while. I have some questions I'm hoping someone might be able to answer.

1. If a connection is running through my VPN and the VPN dies and the connection continues running through my open internet connection, when I restart the VPN, does the connection automatically start getting tunneled back through the VPN or do I need to stop the connection and restart it to get it going through the VPN again?

2. Why is it that the VPN can only run as fast as your ISP's upload speed limit? (The VPN service has "unlimited" bandwidth. I run at 3Mbits max.)

3. If I have the VPN running globally through tunnelblick and I also have an application running that is making a connection through the VPN as set up in the applications preferences/settings, what happens?

That's all I can think of for now. Thanks in advance for any help!

steiney

eibgrad
join:2010-03-15
united state

eibgrad

I'll take a shot at it (since no one else is).

1. In most instances, the use of the VPN is controlled at the OS level, specifically the network stack. If the VPN is up, and your VPN client is configured to use it as the default gateway, it will be used. If the VPN dies, the OS will continue on without it. And if/when the VPN is re-established, it will use it again. It’s just how the network stack works.

2. When ppl make that statement, they’re assuming that you will be using your own VPN server at home to secure your open WiFi sessions. And in that case, yes, your download speeds are limited to your home network’s upload speeds. But if you’re connecting from the home or office to some internet-based VPN server (StrongVPN, HMA, etc.), then of course this doesn’t apply. You should receive whatever speeds are promised by the VPN provider.