Git-r-done
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-19
London, UK
kudos:5

2 edits
reply to raytaylor

Re: Fibre / GPON forums

Splitters usually live in a pedestal/cabinet somewhere around the estate. The splitter will take an incoming signal and break it up in 32 or 64 ways or some other number. These are then patched on to point to point fibres that are presented on little breakout boxes in a pit or on a pole somewhere along the street, and then a lead in cable run to the ONT.

PON splitter: »www.bitsonlight.com/ftth/images/···inet.JPG
"Breakout box" (with the angled connectors on it): »www.bitsonlight.com/ftth/images/···npit.JPG

(Actually the page I took these images from has some good info on it: »www.bitsonlight.com/ftth/)

"Breakout box" is probably not the right term, but its the best thing I can think of to describe it right now. The page above suggests "lead in module" but Im not experienced enough with PON to know if thats an industry standard term, or just what the operator of that PON network is calling it.

ONTs can usually be programmed to, e.g., turn on or off a service if there is no subscription. ONTs with multiple data ports can have their individual data ports provisioned for individual services, if you're using GEPON (which is ethernet based) then you can put each one in its own VLAN (IIRC) which would mean you could do something like what you were asking (Internet and IPTV services.)

Rate limiting might be achieved at a BRAS if you're using PPPoE for example. I guess it depends on the ONT and how smart it is, usually they are nothing more than a media converter with some basic smarts for maintenance and fault finding.

And of course it all depends on the type of PON you are using, and the vendor of your PON equipment. You'd have to contact some of them to get your specific questions answered, unless someone here has already done the work and can share their experience.