spc
Search similar:

uniqs
bobwal
join:2014-04-17
Port Townsend, WA

bobwal

Intermittent Internet dropouts

I have been using an Actiontec PK5000 with CenturyLink for about 4 years. Recently, my modem has been experiencing dropouts (Internet light goes out or flickers) for from about 20 seconds to 3 minutes or so. I tried recycling the modem and that seems to help for a while, but then it starts again, very randomly and intermittently. The CSR says these modems typically last for 4-5 years and it may be nearing its lifespan. They encouraged me to get a new VDSL2 compatible modem, although the lines here haven't yet been upgraded nor is there an upgrade coming soon. Do I really need to get a new modem? Is my PK5000 likely to be on its way out?
coryw
join:2013-12-22
Flagstaff, AZ

coryw

It's my personal philosophy that having an extra modem or two laying around won't hurt, and if CL is telling you that you should buy a VDSL2 modem, either your area has been upgraded (and although VDSL2 equipment typically can fall back to ADSL2+ mode, it is not reliable that way) or CL is planning on upgrading your area soon.

If you go to the web page for the modem, usually at the URL »192.168.0.1/ what are your stats? I believe they're in the connection status area. In particular, look out for the FEC/CRC error counts and the SNR levels -- if your SNR levels are low, it may be that something else has happened on your line.

Ken1943
join:2001-12-30
Brighton, CO

Ken1943 to bobwal

to bobwal
I moved from ADSL to VDSL2 and purchased a C1000A. In tha ADSL location I had two modems ,one spare, and never had a problem with ether. I was fairly close to the co, 2000 feet +/- ?