spc
Search similar:

uniqs
Savagex
join:2012-12-31

Savagex

T1200/2200 Information Thread

Hello All !!

I'm a Telus tech and long time lurker of these forums. A couple days ago I posted a screen shot of the Port1 Bridge option of the new gateways - it seems to have sparked a bit of interest - judging by the number of PMs I got =)

I figured I would put up a little post with some info regarding the new units - slated to start deployment soon on new installs and repairs.

*****!!!!***** DISCLAIMER *****!!!!!*****

What I write here is of my own accord - with no direction from Telus. The information I provide here is 'as I know it' and is in no way Telus 'written in stone' policy and/or a statement from the company proper.

*****!!!!***** +++++++++ *****!!!!!*****

Now that that's out of the way...

A little background:

I have had one of these gateways in my home since April (?) as part of the internal test group. I subscribe to TV (1 PVR (cat5) and 1 HD-STB(coax)) - internet and home phone. I have the 3HD/1SD profile with 25m internet. I do not have a complex home network - IE no bridged router etc. Overall I have noticed very little difference in my services - everything works flawlessly as it always has.

The communication that was sent to the tech group is that the units will be deployed to new Telus TV installs with any speed of internet and to stand alone Internet 100 subscribers only. The Zyxel is being phased out and on new installs of High-speed 6 to 50 - they will be given V1000/2000 units. As far as current subscribers - I don't know if you will be able to call in and request a new unit and what charges would be applied to field a tech to swap your existing V1000/2000 gateway. I would think that internet only customers could also request a 1200/2200 if bridge mode is needed. As a tech I would be inclined to provide one of the new units if my customer said they wanted the ability to bridge to their own router.