spc
Search similar:

uniqs
BiGxChucK
join:2014-08-19
League City, TX

BiGxChucK

Xbox One Packet Loss

Every time I turn on my Xbox One I run a detailed connection check and today it said 7% packet loss. What could the causes be? I'm still learning when it comes to all this interweb stuff
lcornejo
join:2014-03-20
Turris Omnia
ARRIS NVG589

lcornejo

How are you running this? Is this through the xbox one (the detailed connection check)?

You can also try to run something like that using ping plotter from a pc. Ideally from a pc connected directly to the modem. If that one passes with flying colors then maybe your router is the issue. If not, try the xbox one at different times of day. I wouldn't be surprised if your neighborhood node is not properly provisioned. Does it act up even more during prime time? 7pm-11:30pm?

you can also just open a command prompt and run a ping command
to a reliable server, like google.com or suddenlink.net.

journeysquid
join:2014-08-01

journeysquid to BiGxChucK

to BiGxChucK
Are you on a wired connection?
BiGxChucK
League City, TX

BiGxChucK to lcornejo

to lcornejo
I've never done the ping plotter on a PC, not really savvy on PC.
BiGxChucK

BiGxChucK to lcornejo

to lcornejo
Its not all the time that I have packet loss on the xbox one. but yes I use the detailed connection check
BiGxChucK

BiGxChucK to journeysquid

to journeysquid
Both, wired and wireless. But mostly wired now that I ran a seperate line to my sons room
lcornejo
Turris Omnia
ARRIS NVG589

lcornejo

The first thing you need to rule out is that your router is not dropping packets. That is a big problem. Try to isolate this, run ping plotter from your pc behind the router if you see packet loss at the router, which the ip should look just like your internal one.