spc
Search similar:

uniqs
markf_48
join:2014-09-22
Brookfield, MA

markf_48

Noob That's Going Full Digital Needs Some Advice

Let me preface that I am a pretty much a Noob to digital cable TV stuff. I was perfectly content with the programming the way it was prior to the full digital conversion and if it wasn't for the 3 or 4 Extended Basic channels my wife and I frequently watch, I could likely get by on the UHF antenna I recently put up for local news and weather programming. Not much else of interest out of all the channels offered from Charter. I like things simple and reasonably cheap.

Charter in my area is going full digital Oct 1. I can get a Charter cable box for a year free and there after pay the rental cost. I'm not keen on renting equipment and the added cost. The other option I'm looking at is buying a Samsung GX-SM530CF/XAA Box that accepts a CableCard which which would also be free for a year and subsequently be a cheaper monthly rental cost than Charters box. I've seen a few mixed reviews/comments (other forums) on going the CableCard route that Charter was pushing to do away with the CableCard under the premise of better security, so I'm not sure if the CableCard is a good direction to go.
Are there any downsides to owning a box such as the Samsung? From what I've been able to figure out I wouldn't have interactive programming menus with the Samsung unless I rented a tuning adapter from Charter, which likely isn't too important to me.
Are there other boxes similar to the Samsung that might be a wiser purchase?

mdavej
join:2004-06-09
united state

mdavej

Charter tuning adapter is free with every cable card. You'll be missing several channels without it, not missing your guide or menus. It's pretty much a requirement with cable card.