uniqs
share rss forum feed

HRM
God Bless America
Premium,MVM
join:2002-02-03
Darien, CT
kudos:1

Picture of my new AMD 2000+ and some hints.

This 1800 posts as a 2000 now. My only regret was that I didn't do it sooner.

I am not an expert. Many readers have done this before and could definitely give me lessons. This post is more for those who have not unlocked theirs yet. Also, I would encourange anyone who has unlocked an XP (better yet, lots of them) to add to or correct the hints for everyone else. Of course, this could have fried my CPU, motherboard and who knowes what else. I was willing to accept that outcome. Proceed at your own risk.

I basically did the same thing I first read on tomshardware.com »www6.tomshardware.com/howto/01q4···dex.html

Note that I had to re-do two of the bridges. The first time it looked better, but was only partially unlocked and would go to all the multipliers. This is what I learned.

hints:

1. Do not skimp on the size of the bridge. Obviously they can only be so big, but don't sell yourself short by making them too tiny.

2. If you get a conductive pen, when the directions say bang the pen on a hard surface, they mean it. You have to whack the crap out of it to get the thing to work right...otherwise it is all clogged and works like S**T.

3. While you do not skimp on size, do not make it too thick. The tape will allow a sizeable amount, and if it is too "high" it can flake and move slightly. Make sure it is like a coat of paint, not thicker.

4. It is way easier to do it the first time, than the second. Better to go slow and do it right the first time.

5. If you make it to thick and the thing is flaky and you feel you must use a razor to separate the danglers, don't press too hard because the topcoat of insulation on the chip comes right off (trust me, That was a scary moment)PS. it still might work finebecause mine does!