 | Akamai technologies I did an online scan at House Call some time yesterday (sorry, the meds cloud my memory ). I noticed the certificate was from Trend but the ActiveX control is from Akamai Technologies (»a840.g.akamai.net). Is this something I want on my computer? I have heard Akamai is blocked in the S. Martin hosts file and maybe in IE-SpyAd. I have both so how was this installed if it came from Akamai? -- Feivel |
|
 RygelLearn How To Use ReplyPremium join:2001-11-17 Moira, NY | Akami is a streaming video company. I don't know if they have spyware. I like to think not. -- Power corrupts. Absolute power corrupts absolutely. |
|
 ZupePremium,MVM join:2001-11-29 New York, NY | reply to Feivel1 In addition to hosting advertising, Akamai is also a content host utilized by many large companies as a proxy for security/distribution reasons. For example, Norton Antivirus' LiveUpdate uses Akamai servers to distribute it's virus definitions. The FBI website also uses Akamai I believe. I assume this holds true for TrendMicro as well, and that's why the ActiveX control was downloaded from Akamai. -- Pinky: I think so Brain, but shouldn't the bat boy be wearing a cape? |
|
|
|
 FiOS DanPremium join:2001-07-06 Redondo Beach, CA | reply to Feivel1 said by Feivel1: I have heard Akamai is blocked in the S. Martin hosts file and maybe in IE-SpyAd. I have both so how was this installed if it came from Akamai?
Yes to the former, but only if you download the file that contains the "Not for Everyone" entries. Apparently "no" to the latter. I have an up to date IE-SPYAD list which I just checked and found no *.akamai entry. -- "Don't reach for anything but your pen." |
|
 | reply to Feivel1 Akamai is just a web hosting company that hosts that one ad or file on multiple servers, so that "ad" or "file" can get to you in the fastest route possible. |
|
 Time Out$Premium join:2002-04-28 North Myrtle Beach, SC | reply to Feivel1 Akamai services everyone on the Internet..this is what they are all about.
»Why would you need Akamai in your hosts file? |
|
 | reply to Djdeadly Ok then...Akamai is "safe." The question then is...how did I dl an ActiveX control when the url I posted above is redirected to 127.0.0.1. Yes i have checked, it is in my host file and my host file is working (and the DNS Client is disabled). -- Feivel |
|
 Time Out$Premium join:2002-04-28 North Myrtle Beach, SC | Akamai Technologies provide the site leased by trend..if you did house call you have downloaded program file and a virus def file on your system now..you can find one in IE the other some place else..they came from an Akamai edge of the net site.They handle the load of visitor..trend has the IP you visit. It is a physical location thingie. |
|
 Time Out$Premium join:2002-04-28 North Myrtle Beach, SC | This link will show you where to find that housecall file..right click on it and you will see it comes from akamai http
»About ActiveX! |
|