Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Security » Virus/Trojan Help Needed
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
1789
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
Need Anti-Trojan protection: HELP! »
« Xolox....any Users here?  
page: 1 · 2 · 3
AuthorAll Replies


davidovv

join:2001-06-19
Netherlands

reply to Quantic
Re: Virus/Trojan Help Needed

Hope you don't mind interfering here. As for Dr.Web, one should address first and foremost their actual home page:

»www.dials.ru/english/home.htm

No offense, Quantic - bit IMO that's where those interested in this AV should go to - the real source.

regards.

paul wilders

»www.wilders.org security


CalamityJane
Premium,VIP,MVM
join:2002-08-27
Eustis, FL


reply to Quantic
said by Quantic See Profile:

Concerning the question of how they get our software. There are only three ways they can get it. There are NO OTHER options.

1) We are often bundled with File-sharing programs like I-Mesh, AudioGalaxy, etc. When people accept the user agreement, they also accept the user agreements for all other software bundled in the same package.

2) They see one of our banners, click through, and it takes them to our download pages.

3) They visit other download sites where we have affiliates with, and they download from there.
Here's how my neighbor just got HIJACKED by one of your "banners". She was at a genealogy website "Find A Grave" (yes, one frequented by seniors).....Got a pop up ad. See picture one. See the little "x" to "close" the annoying ad? She click that and got....taken to your website instead
»defender.veloz.com/dlp_ban/dlp_b···r=online

Ok- tried to use the back key to go back to the original Find A Grave site she was on and Voila, see picture #two. Before that could fully load, she got the following warning from her firewall (see my next post)
--
It takes a disaster to make a woman out of a female

[text was edited by author 2002-09-24 18:13:53]


CalamityJane
Premium,VIP,MVM
join:2002-08-27
Eustis, FL


reply to Ginger5
Gee...downloading your program and never even once said "Yes".

P.S. I recreated this event from the website she was at and got the popup ad. NEVER ONCE DID I HIT A SCAN NOW BUTTON....just the ad to close it.
--
It takes a disaster to make a woman out of a female

[text was edited by author 2002-09-24 17:37:41]


Ginger5
Premium
join:2002-03-24
Madison, WI
Interesting...


CalamityJane
Premium,VIP,MVM
join:2002-08-27
Eustis, FL

Ginger,

The saga continues here (and has instructions by Name Game & Guycad on how to get OFF your friend's machine)
»eAnthology
--
It takes a disaster to make a woman out of a female


Ginger5
Premium
join:2002-03-24
Madison, WI
·Charter Pipeline

reply to Quantic
"Quantic
Posts: 13
Joined 09-23-2002

In response to Ginger: Good morning all. I want to thank you fgor the warm welcome I received yesterday but neglected to mention in my tired state. Now I am refreshed and it would appear time to answer some more concerns.

1) We are often bundled with File-sharing programs like I-Mesh, AudioGalaxy, etc. When people accept the user agreement, they also accept the user agreements for all other software bundled in the same package.

2) They see one of our banners,....

First - We use a 3rd party scanner engine...."

Mods (ahem) ??
--
We tweak it because it's there.


Ginger5
Premium
join:2002-03-24
Madison, WI
reply to CalamityJane
Jane, stick a fork in me; I'm done
--
We tweak it because it's there.


Name Game
Premium
join:2002-07-07
North Myrtle Beach, SC

reply to Name Game
said by Name Game See Profile:
7.What is going on here at this link about your products?

Mysterious "spam"

»news.spamcop.net/pipermail/spamc···035.html

_____________________________

8. When people go here to read about your stop sign..why do they instantly get the popup in their face to download it 2 seconds later.

»www.stop-sign.com/?pg=eanthology···ne&clk=1
RE: Number 8.

To clear up any confusion..that link..is not any click through on anything... Nothing to do with their ad or the crazy little tests they have for you.

It came from the action of anyone just going to their Home page
»www.stop-sign.com/

Trying to find out what this thing is all about.

EANTHOLOGY SUPPORT SUBSCRIBE DOWNLOAD

Then hitting the TAB button on the top of that page called DOWNLOAD.

That's it. you get the popup to download and you can not even read the page called download and find out anything about the product. On that page they do have reference to DR WEB and some other info. But you can not read it becuase the Popup to download it is right in your face. If you do not hit the cancel button but rather the close X it will start download the whole thing on your system. Then you will see that on this page there is a download NOW button...too late..they have the page hooked to the click through.

That is despicable.

And if you hit the button called SUBSCRIBE..you get another Popup..you can not read about this product and find out what is all about to even subscribe..and that is why so many people still have questions in the other thread at this forum calle eAnthology. No one even knows what the whole program plan they offer is all about until you have a PC full of their downloads and then you have to struggle to clean them off.


CalamityJane
Premium,VIP,MVM
join:2002-08-27
Eustis, FL

quote:
That is despicable
And Name Game says he can't spell (heh, he got this one right...AND the right definition because typing write is not the same as spelling right, but who really cares?)

So, where is Quantic who removed his location hiding? It takes a whole day to read two threads? Or one whole day to "formulate" a response? I usually don't "formulate", I usually just respond.

Waiting for this answer and the one on the sister/brother thread
»eAnthology
--
It takes a disaster to make a woman out of a female


sig
Premium
join:2001-05-05

Perhaps checking if they're authorized by the VB to use the 100% VB logo on their site? Or if the VB has any restrictions regarding the use of their logo?

[text was edited by author 2002-09-28 22:34:17]
Forums » Up and Running » Security » SecurityNeed Anti-Trojan protection: HELP! »
« Xolox....any Users here?  
page: 1 · 2 · 3


Thursday, 03-Dec 05:03:56 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [162] Comcast Releasing Promised Usage Meter
· [98] Graduate Student Unveils Sprint's GPS Sharing With Feds
· [79] Latest Consumer Reports Survey Not Kind To AT&T
· [70] Baltimore To Ban Lazy Cable Installs
· [70] Avast Antivirus Has Gone Mad
· [62] Broadband Killed The Game Console
· [55] Rogers Unveils The ISP Dream Model
· [46] ACTA: Global Three Strikes
· [41] Rural Carriers Quickly Embracing Fiber
· [40] AT&T, Verizon Drop 3G Ad Dispute
Most people now reading
· False positive in Avast! or is it real? [Security]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· [Config] cisco asa 5505 with multiple outside IP addresses [Cisco]
· Opening a file download dialog from a JavaScript function. [Webmasters and Developers]
· [Newsgroups] Newzleech down? [Filesharing Software]
· Poll: Have you ever been charged an overage fee since ... [TekSavvy]
· Quality/longevity of 15A 120V receptacles [Home Repair & Improvement]
· ToC 4th boss - Preliminary Strategy for Twin Valkyr [World of Warcraft]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· Connecting to Google Voice Via SIP [VOIP Tech Chat]