spc
Search similar:

uniqs
glenn35
join:2003-02-11
Humble, TX

glenn35

Newbie here, What does this mean?

Just to let you know I have just installed Norton Personal Firewall. Only seconds after opening IE a little not poppped up telling me that a program called save.exe is trying to access the internet. It says it has no virus. And here is the info I received from the WHOIS feature.

Registrant:
SONDHI, GAYATRI (WHENU-DOM)
301 E 66TH ST APT 9D
NEW YORK, NY 10021-6216
US

Domain Name: WHENU.COM

Administrative Contact:
Nader, Avi (PMRVKVGHAI) anader@whenu.com

494 8th Ave
New York, NY 10001
US
212-239-0000 212-239-4442
Technical Contact:
Hostmaster, Pfmc (PH540) hostmaster@GLOBIX.NET
Globix Corp.
139 Centre Street
New York, NY 10013
US
212-334-8600 212-334-8603

Record expires on 22-Jul-2003.
Record created on 22-Jul-1999.
Database last updated on 10-Mar-2003 17:28:32 EST.

Domain servers in listed order:

Z1.NS.NYC1.GLOBIX.NET 209.10.66.55
Z1.NS.SJC1.GLOBIX.NET 209.10.34.55

What is this program and how did I get it? I am very green at all of this even though I have been reading the FAQ and the Security Forums here at DSLR. So please help me to figure this garbage out and what I should do in the future for this type of occurrence.

Thanks

Ray
Mahnahmahna
Premium Member
join:2001-04-02

Ray

Premium Member

I did a quick Google for 'save.exe' and found this:

»www.winpatrol.com/stats.html
LowWaterMark
Premium Member
join:2002-05-16
Wallingford, CT

LowWaterMark to glenn35

Premium Member

to glenn35
I cleaned this off a system the other day with SpyBot... They got it when a weather applet got download for the systray. More info: »Weather.exe,SaveUninst.exe,SaveNow...
glenn35
Humble, TX

glenn35 to Ray

to Ray
Thanks for the quick response. But what should I do about that file? Should I delete it or what? Will it come back and how do I prevent it from coming back?

I have Ad blocking checked on NPF. Is that enough?
LowWaterMark
Premium Member
Wallingford, CT