  basarman
join:2000-09-24 Sharon, MA
| Comcast Blocking Forwarded Email?
Because my "official" email address keeps changing (e.g., mediaone to attbi to comcast), I have been using bigfoot.com to create a "permanent" email address that is forwarded to my "official" email address. Suddenly today, everybody who sends to bigfoot gets a bounce message:
< bflitemail3a.bigfoot.com #5.1.1 SMTP; 550 64.15.239.131 blocked by blacklist.mail.ops.asp.att.net. -> Blocked for spam abuse - 2003/07/01>
Is anybody else seeing this with bigfoot? What about with mail forwarded from other services? |
|
  joegreen Polaroids Of Polar Bears Premium join:2002-09-21 Galloway, NJ
| I am thinking that you could possibly unblock the email from a web based spam controller. I'm not sure though, have a look around the comcast website in the mail section and see if you can find anything out. -- green.deviantart.com |
|
  CableUZR Cuidado, Hay Llamas
join:2003-02-04 Mount Holly, NJ clubs:
| reply to basarman said by basarman : Because my "official" email address keeps changing (e.g., mediaone to attbi to comcast), I have been using bigfoot.com to create a "permanent" email address that is forwarded to my "official" email address. Suddenly today, everybody who sends to bigfoot gets a bounce message:
< bflitemail3a.bigfoot.com #5.1.1 SMTP; 550 64.15.239.131 blocked by blacklist.mail.ops.asp.att.net. -> Blocked for spam abuse - 2003/07/01>
Is anybody else seeing this with bigfoot? What about with mail forwarded from other services?
It looks like bflitemail3a.bigfoot.com is on the black list at att.net. You'll have to call Comcast and ask if Bigfoot is blacklisted. -How many messages per day are you getting forwarded from that address, and how frequently do they get forwarded? Are they sent as a batch, or as they come in? Sometimes large bursts of email sent to an address will trip spam filters...
Uzr |
|
  David___
@attbi.com
| reply to basarman I use pobox.com for mail forwarding. Not only is their service great, but their reporting of technical issues excels. They write:
July 2, 2003 (Updated 8:35 PM): Problem delivering mail to AT&T/Comcast
At approximately 11:30 a.m. EDT, AT&T/Comcast updated their spam filters such that mail passing through certain pobox.com mail exchange servers was bounced. We contacted AT&T about the problem immediately, and took steps to work around the problem until we heard from them, but it has grown increasingly worse throughout the day. Since AT&T has been unable to provide a time estimate on when this problem would be fixed, we are now holding mail for all accounts forwarding to the following domains:
comcast.net att.net attbi.com
If you have more than one forwarding address, your mail is still being sent to your unaffected account; when the problem is resolved with AT&T/Comcast, all your held mail will be delivered to your affected account.
If your only forwarding address is at one of those affected domains, we have set up a temporary IMAP account for your Pobox address. You can find instructions on how to set this up at »www.pobox.com/mailstore.mhtml. |
|
 speeder2k
join:2003-04-13 Philadelphia, PA | reply to basarman interesting.
I bought a domain from namezero a while ago and use their forwarding service. While everything seems fine with namezero them selves, the forwarding is not working anymore I don't think.
Should I give comcast a call? |
|
 speeder2k
join:2003-04-13 Philadelphia, PA | reply to basarman also it seems like comcast blocked all of hotmail? o.O |
|
  basarman
join:2000-09-24 Sharon, MA
| Ok, well it seems I'm not the only one. Has anybody had any luck getting Comcast to fix the issue for their forwarding service's domain? Alternatively, have any of the forwarding services stepped up? [text was edited by author 2003-07-03 07:44:28] |
|
 speeder2k
join:2003-04-13 Philadelphia, PA
| reply to basarman well, i forwarded the email to the webmail address which is also accessible by POP for now.
and comcast is also blocking mailix.net emails (namezero, etc webmail / forwarding).
I've sent them an email, and posted on comcast Forums.
This is certainly the dumbest thing comcast could've done. Blacklisting lots of very big mail domains without notifying anyone and not even doing anything about it.
This should piss off a LOT of people. |
|
  craiglester Mandrake , Gp. Capt
join:2003-05-02 Denver, CO
| reply to basarman I just sent myself an email at my bigfoot address and it arrived promptly at my comcast.net address.. no problem at all..
sorry i cant be more helpful 
UPDATE!
just changed the bigfoot forwarding to comcast.net from attbi.com and got the blocked for spam abuse message... hmm.. interesting...
and another thing.. seems that I cant get to bigfoot itself now.. so i cant change my email forwarding back.. bloody comcast grr [text was edited by author 2003-07-03 14:34:37] |
|
  bgfun
join:2002-01-22 Pasadena, MD
| reply to basarman We have a web site hosted with XO and have email to that domain address forwarded to our comcast mail account. Now, people who send mail to our domain address get a message "550 216.156.2.38 blocked by blacklist.mail.ops.asp.att.net. Blocked for spam abuse, 2003/07/01.
We have crusaded against spam and I track down and report many of the spammers that send mail to me. Now, anyone visiting our web site and sending a message to us will get the impression that we are spammers!
I'm all for stopping spam, but Comcast went overboard and appears to have blocked legitimate ISP's
Billy |
|
  newview Ex .. Ex .. Exactly Premium join:2001-10-01 Parsonsburg, MD
| reply to CableUZR said by CableUZR :
It looks like bflitemail3a.bigfoot.com is on the black list at att.net.
. . . and deserves to be, judging by the amount of spam that passes thru that server. »groups.google.com/groups?q=bflit···foot.com -- The Rules of Spam | Maryland's New Anti-Spam Law Where are we going? And what's with the hand basket? |
|
  madylarian The curmudgeonly Premium join:2002-01-03 Parkville, MD
| said by newview : said by CableUZR :
It looks like bflitemail3a.bigfoot.com is on the black list at att.net.
. . . and deserves to be, judging by the amount of spam that passes thru that server. »groups.google.com/groups?q=bflit···foot.com
Same for XO: »groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&l···e+Search
I know I get a lot of spam from XO.
That's why I chose to to get my domain and email hosting from a local/regional ISP that is much less likely to be a spam haus.
mady -- Honi soit qui mal y pense |
|
  ssj4android Redefining Reality
join:2002-04-14 Wyoming, MI | reply to basarman Does turning off spam blocking help? |
|
  r3d2m0 Lil' Premium join:2002-02-24 Silver Spring, MD
| reply to basarman 553 5.3.0
Website email still being blocked. Site is hosted on Aplus.net
Server Response: '553 5.3.0 Mail from XX.XX.XXX.XXX rejected;see »mail-abuse.org/cgi-bin/lookup [edited out IP address by request --- fatness] [text was edited by moderator] |
|
 aleece
join:2001-02-14 Livingston, NJ
| reply to speeder2k Re: Comcast Blocking Forwarded Email?
If you call Comcast and speak to anyone who doesn't stumble in his/her reply while making up an answer, please let me know. I've already called and talked to someone who had trouble thinking of one.
And, I know it's off topic, but I have a domain with namezero too and can't find the place to change my forwarding options. If you could tall me where it is, I would be endlessly grateful. |
|