  Guspaz Guspaz Premium,MVM join:2001-11-05 Montreal, QC
·Colbanet
| VeriSign hijacking the internet
Here's a post I just made to can.internet.highspeed: quote: VeriSign has made it so all invalid DNS lookups on .net or .com resolve to THEIR IP! The changes have already affected iStop, and I've emailed iStop to request an IP ban.
I strongly urge everybody to contact their ISP and demand that this IP, 64.94.110.11, be banned from their network.
More info can be found here: »slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=03/0···8&tid=99
Regards, Adam.
|
|
  HiVolt 29 Premium join:2000-12-28 Toronto, ON clubs:
·TekSavvy Solutions..
·Bell Sympatico
| Well I'll be damned. I'm on Sympatico and its happening. What the heck is this? Who did they pay off? |
|
 lawrence171 Evilly Yours - Evilness
join:2001-12-24 Canada
| reply to Guspaz Greetings,
I guess since the US government is running into deficites they can't afford to have a public domain system. Well, I block that particular IP address on my end (Firewall), and since NBN is working on core routers, I guess they can't do anything about this yet.
I'm not really sure as to how this could be a bad thing trough, from an end-user point-of-view. Then again, spam is another issue, but how can this affect it anyways? [text was edited by author 2003-09-15 23:25:46] |
|
  Happyrat Google Is Your Best Friend Premium join:2002-07-01 Disneyland
| reply to Guspaz I've read the commentary on Slashdot and I have to agree with the resident geeks over there. This is cybersquatting with impugnity by a virtual monopoly. I know for a fact this will personally impact me in that it will affect mailwasher's ability to bounce spam from my mailbox as well as ruin the effectiveness of my link checker which I use to verify the links on my homepage. In fact it will create a nightmare for every webcrawler and spider out there. Not to mention that Verisign is getting paid for redirecting every misspelled url out there to the Overture Search Engine.
The original poster referenced the article without comments.
»slashdot.org/articles/03/09/16/0···8&tid=99
That url references the commentary as well. An interesting MUST READ for everyone who surfs the net. I also made a point of mentioning the article to Naz88 in an IM in order to get Golden to block the IP in question on their nameservers and replace it with the standard NXDOMAIN reply so that we won't have to put up with this blatant SPAM on our accounts. I'd suggest you all make similar comments to your ISPs as well to help nip this nastiness in the bud.
Also you may want to make your feelings known on this matter at »icann.org -- AFTER the pin is pulled, Mr. Grenade is no longer our FRIEND... »www.ratrancher.com [text was edited by author 2003-09-16 00:36:41] |
|
  Naz88 Premium,VIP join:2001-11-12 Kitchener, ON | I just made this aware to our abuse admin @ golden. He is not very pleased. Im not sure what action will be taken or if any for that matter, but I suspect something will, and I will keep you informed. Thanks for the PM Happyrat! |
|
  Happyrat Google Is Your Best Friend Premium join:2002-07-01 Disneyland
| Thanks for the quick reply Naz88. Anything that can be done to fight spam of any kind should be done swiftly and without mercy...
 -- AFTER the pin is pulled, Mr. Grenade is no longer our FRIEND...»www.ratrancher.com |
|
  ivory
@igs.net | reply to Guspaz Hi, thanks for the info, I am redirecting the whole class C to the Neverland (192.168.1.254)on my gateway/router. |
|
  corster Premium join:2002-02-23 Ottawa, ON clubs:  | reply to Guspaz Rogers Cable now affected. |
|
  sbrook Premium,Mod join:2001-12-14 H0H 0H0
·Rogers Hi-Speed
Host: Rogers Bell Canada
| reply to Happyrat said by Happyrat : I know for a fact this will personally impact me in that it will affect mailwasher's ability to bounce spam from my mailbox
You really should NOT use mailwasher's bounce feature.
First, 99.99% of spam comes from either invalid addresses, or joejob addresses and extremely rarely the actual sender, so you're sending fake bounce messages to innocent parties.
Next, you're sending messages out that are not legitimate SMTP bounces to mostly people who aren't the senders of the message in the hope of being listwashed.
Finally, you're sending mail out forging the postmaster's address as your own.
Mailwasher is a useful tool, but whatever individual included this idea wanted shooting, because mailwasher user, implementing bounce are spamming innocent people, contributing nothing to solving the spam problem and actually making it worse. |
|
  DSun101 To Tired To Make Sense
join:2001-03-23 Boonton, NJ | reply to Guspaz Optimum Online...Happening here as well =/
What kinda Bull is this?.. |
|
  sbrook Premium,Mod join:2001-12-14 H0H 0H0
·Rogers Hi-Speed
Host: Rogers Bell Canada
| It will happen with all ISPs unless they block access to the IP address that verisign has routed all non-registered domains to.
I think they should pay ICANN the $12 registration fee for every misspelled domain entered since they've claimed all those domains! That'll stop them in a hurry! |
|
  Snickerdo Premium join:2001-02-28 Niagara Falls, ON
| said by sbrook : It will happen with all ISPs unless they block access to the IP address that verisign has routed all non-registered domains to. I think they should pay ICANN the $12 registration fee for every misspelled domain entered since they've claimed all those domains! That'll stop them in a hurry!
You know, that's not a half bad idea. -- Snickerdo - Anarchy and Chaos in the Niagara Peninsula since 1983! MACINTOSH: Most Applications Crash, If Not, The Operating System Hangs Yes, I CanChat. Can You? |
|
  Happyrat Google Is Your Best Friend Premium join:2002-07-01 Disneyland
| reply to sbrook said by sbrook :
You really should NOT use mailwasher's bounce feature.
Say what you will against mailwasher, but in the two weeks that I've been using it it gets results. My spam has dropped off by 80% since running it. And I plan to use it for at least another month or so until hopefully the flood slows to a trickle... -- AFTER the pin is pulled, Mr. Grenade is no longer our FRIEND...»www.ratrancher.com |
|
  corster Premium join:2002-02-23 Ottawa, ON clubs: 
| said by Happyrat : said by sbrook :
You really should NOT use mailwasher's bounce feature.
Say what you will against mailwasher, but in the two weeks that I've been using it it gets results. My spam has dropped off by 80% since running it. And I plan to use it for at least another month or so until hopefully the flood slows to a trickle...
Same here. -- Visit ihaterogers.ca Yes, I CanChat. Can you chat? Why not try for yourself? |
|
  Naz88 Premium,VIP join:2001-11-12 Kitchener, ON | reply to Guspaz I think Golden.net may have blocked that IP address, It was working last night, but is no longer working now!  |
|
  EveryName Wake Up Premium join:2001-12-05 Montreal | reply to Guspaz I have IE setup to use Google as the search page, so when i enter an invalid URL, it goes to the google search page. |
|
 marvinmiller
join:2003-01-25 V9P-1B4
| reply to Guspaz Ahhhhh..... so that's why the domain name I just registered traced back to VeriSign.
The name hadn't fully propagated through the name servers so it ended up there.
Thing is though, I've been tracing it today as well but it no longer shows up at VeriSign - even though it's not active yet so I guess VeriSign very quickly found out what a stupid idea that was and did an abrupt about face. -- Double Your BroadBand Speed @»www.askmarvin.ca |
|
  Nam Vet Premium join:2001-12-03 Allentown, PA
| never mind
[text was edited by author 2003-09-17 06:39:34] |
|
  rodst Premium join:2002-10-06 Victoria, BC | reply to Guspaz The Internet Software Consortium, the people that develop BIND, is working on a patch for ISP and others. -- RDS Computer Systems |
|
  sbrook Premium,Mod join:2001-12-14 H0H 0H0 | reply to corster Other features of mailwasher are great and will reduce your spam ... but the bounce feature is not. |
|