 JulioBachatero y Que?Premium join:2003-03-19 Brooklyn, NY kudos:1 | [scam] Go-l PCs it seems »www.go-l.com is a possible fake company, could be fooling people, could be a very expensive scam also. current BBR thread here »They can't make em any better than this maybe you guys can see if this company is real or what not. -- AMD Athlon XP 2000+ Running at 1.7GHZ crunching for Team Discovery | visit the Big Apple forum |
|
 SYNACKJust Firewall ItPremium,Mod join:2001-03-05 Venice, CA Host: Networking Virtual Private Ne.. Netgear ZyXEL
|  Why??? |
I would be very cautious with this company. Many thing don't ring plausible.
Too many buzzwords, too much hype.
For example, look at their server picture.
Red: Why would there be an LCD for CPU load (3 CPUs) on the powersupply (!) inside the case of a dual CPU server??? Cyan: This really looks photoshopped. Why is there an IC on the fan housing (NO circuit board there!) that looks amazingly similar to an IC nearby??? That Fan is also completely obstructing the use of the AGP and PCI slots. [text was edited by author 2003-09-28 15:47:50] |
|
 KiwiPremium join:2003-05-26 USA/MidWest kudos:1 Reviews:
·Comcast
| reply to Julio Lol, It's still taking a lot of people time to figure this one out & for the life of me, can't figure out why!
It was fun...to look @ once, but get a grip this is not the real-deal. It's way short on considering a couple of the technology items that are not even out yet, then take a look at the Super-Imposed pics! Er, what part of not, got missed?
Really...Lolol. It was a fun thing the first time, but get real.....
Cheers -- The Rig:OS Win2k Pro. Chenming Case with a 420w PS. 2.66g/533fsb Intel CPU @ 3.34g CoolerMaster IHC-H71 piped air; No less 512meg Twinmos PC3700~466 DDR @ 2.7v ATI 9500 Pro Atlantis (128meg). Seagate 40g 7200rpm @8.5msec |
|
|
|
 Doctor FourMy other vehicle is a TARDISPremium join:2000-09-05 Dallas, TX
| reply to Julio From what I've read about this site, it appears to be a hoax which spoofs Apple's website. The source code for the site suggests that the owner, Miguel Liebermann, downloaded Apple's page and edited it. Check out this thread from Google Groups: »groups.google.com/groups?dq=&hl=···.comp.sy s.mac%26start%3D75 I wonder if Steve Jobs knows about this one yet? If so, I smell a lawsuit coming...
-- "Kayura or Badamon, whichever you are, you should know that I will never give up this battle. By the will of the Ancient, I shall succeed!" - Shuten (Anubis) from the Ronin Warriors. [text was edited by author 2003-09-28 21:38:38] |
|
 pcdebbRIP dadkinsPremium join:2000-12-03 Brandon, FL kudos:4 | reply to Julio yea, there's a couple forums talking about it. i like how they stole apple's site design (damn, forgot to submit to pirated-sites.com), and anybody can build a sweet box like that for much much cheaper. it makes you download something just to purchase it online. alot about that site smells. what is with people setting up these ecommerce sites and taking peoples money? I've come across more of these everyday it seems. -- I want to die in my sleep like my grandfather...not screaming and yelling like the passengers in his car ... (posts) ... AIM ... |
|
 neutralfaith in the futurePremium join:2001-08-04 Ringgold, GA kudos:7 | said by pcdebb: what is with people setting up these ecommerce sites and taking peoples money? I've come across more of these everyday it seems.
As long as fools still fall for it, those sites will still be around I guess. 
Hey I love this pirated-sites page this is a hoot. -- I want to say I'm sorry for stuff I haven't done yet irc.fj33r.com - #dslr||Werewolves of Folding |
|
 e144539 join:2000-11-02 San Angelo, TX | reply to SYNACK said by SYNACK: I would be very cautious with this company... Why would there be an LCD for CPU load (3 CPUs) on the powersupply
I would be cautious too. I think that third one is supposed to be GPU, but the picture is obviously photoshoped. they got the some of the images from here ![]() cool site. They do have that little disclaimer at the bottom though. "Certain images are for illustration purposes only." and on the legal page "All product photos are for illustrative purposes only. Photos displayed on website may contain optional items that are not included in the default configuration for that system."
Here's a good link giving evidence its a hoax »plex.us/outbursts/liebermann.html
...But want to know if they've stolen anyone's money, or if it's just some kind of joke. -- Never attribute to malice that which can be adequately explained by stupidity. |
|
 neutralfaith in the futurePremium join:2001-08-04 Ringgold, GA kudos:7 | said by e144539:
Here's a good link giving evidence its a hoax »plex.us/outbursts/liebermann.html
...But want to know if they've stolen anyone's money, or if it's just some kind of joke.
Well, I went through the site and tried to actually go through some order screens, and it doesn't look like you could even order if you wanted to. All the order screens gave me an error saying that "Miva Merchant has not been initialized". I haven't tried to call the 877 number though. Not quite that bored....yet. -- I want to say I'm sorry for stuff I haven't done yet irc.fj33r.com - #dslr||Werewolves of Folding |
|
 DMenschaIt's Not Fixed, But We Have A Workaround join:2001-07-19 <-nowhere-> | reply to Julio I LOVE this hoax/scam. It sort of reminds me of the stuff Wozniak used to pull at the computer shows, except Woz always did it for the "wow" factor and never tried to collect money for something that didn't exist.
The funny thing is, I think that some of this hoopla is feasible at this point given the size/price of RAM these days. Some of us old guys remember when you loaded the operating system into the computer with a floppy disk.
I got a few interviews once by posting my "CIA" resume on my homepage. Trouble was, I couldn't keep a straight face during the interviews  -- Indecision may or may not be my problem |
|
 | reply to Julio is it just me or is the motherboard not even connected to the power supply? what a bunch of crap |
|
 spamdPremium join:2001-04-22 Cherry Valley, IL
| reply to e144539 said by e144539: They do have that little disclaimer at the bottom though. "Certain images are for illustration purposes only." and on the legal page "All product photos are for illustrative purposes only. Photos displayed on website may contain optional items that are not included in the default configuration for that system."
But isn't that called false advertising?? I have heard of companies telling you that the product may not look like the one pictured, because of product version changes. But these guys take it to the next level. It looks like they are actually admitting to false advertising, and then making is sound all legal.
This is just as stupid as,, lets say for example a car maker like Ford. Advertising a Ford Escort with a picture of a V8 engine installed or photoshopped and set of Mikey Thompson racing tires. Then having that posted on there website. Then saying "All product photos are for illustrative purposes only"...  Sorry but nice try.
Any one have any thoughts on this.. -- »They can't make em any better than this [text was edited by author 2003-10-06 01:05:10] |
|