  integra94
join:2001-12-15
| Scary letter i have received today!
hi guys, this morning i got this letter from Comcast. Anybody advise on what to do?
Dear comcast high-speed internet Subscriber:
Comcast has received a notification of claimed infringement made under the Digital millennium Copyright Act(the'DMCA'). This notification, made by a copyright owner or its authorized agent, reports an alleged infringement of one or more copyrighted works made on or over Comcast's High-Speed Internet service(the 'Service'). The works identified in the notification of claimed infringement are listed below. In accordance with the DMCA and Comcast's acceptable Use Policy, Comcast request that you immediately remove the allegedly infringing works from the Service or Comcast will be forced to remove or block access to the works.
If you believe in good faith that the allegedly infringing works have been removed or blocked by mistake or misidentification, then you may send a counter notification to Comcast. Upon Comcast's receipt of a counter notification that satisfies the requirements of the DMCA, Comcast will provide a copy of the counter notification to the party who sent the original notification of claimed infringement. We will the follow the DMCA's procedures with respect to a received counter notification.
For more information regarding Comcast's copyright infringement policy, procedures, and contact information, please read our Acceptable Use Policy by clicking on the terms of Service link at »www.comcast.net
Sincerely, Comcast Network Abuse and Observance Team...
Infringement Detail ------------------------------ Notice ID:******* Title: protecting virus prog Infringment Source: eDonkey Infringment Address:******* Infringment site: ed2k Infringer username:None Infringing file size:******* |
|
  Fraggboy Just Lovin' My Bandwidth . . Premium join:2001-03-04 Woods Cross, UT clubs:
| Hmm, IF I read that correctly, it looks like the RIAA is expanding from Kazaa, and working on eDonkey users..
Seems to me(IF you didn't "***" out the info), that they didn't get ALL of the info, but they are tracking via something else(Probably IP address)..
What I would do, since you are "Tagged", is wipe your HD clean of "Stuff", and write back to them via a "Counter Notification" that it was a mistake on their part. Since it seems the RIAA can't totally grasp hard evidence thus the lack of username, filesize, and address..
UNLESS you have edited it out. That's the real question. IF you did, then they DO have proof of you having the file(s), and are sharing them around... Come clean to save yourself a HUGE headache!!
EDIT: What program are they talking about anyways?! Enlighten me on that plz.. -- AMD Athlon 2400+(Running 38 Degrees C/Idle), MSI KT4V Mobo, 1024 DDR PC3200, 60GIG HD, CD Burner, DVD, and GeForce 4 Ti4200, Fully MODDED!! |
|
 danno86
join:2003-10-10 Jacksonville, FL
| reply to integra94 I'd recommend you do a clean format of your harddrive, getting rid of any evidence there may be and dont use insecure programs like edonkey that have SPYWARE....key word SPYware. I pay $11 a month for newsgroup access (through www.giganews.com) and its fast, secure and I don't have to worry about shit like that. Good luck to you.
-danno |
|
  parasonic I Am Not A Bot
join:2002-03-29 Atlanta, GA clubs: | Reformat? Pashaw. Just stop using edonkey. |
|
 danno86
join:2003-10-10 Jacksonville, FL
| reply to Fraggboy said by Fraggboy : EDIT: What program are they talking about anyways?! Enlighten me on that plz..
eDonkey, one of the many P2P programs out there...check this out for more info: »File Sharing FAQ |
|
  Fraggboy Just Lovin' My Bandwidth . . Premium join:2001-03-04 Woods Cross, UT clubs:
| reply to parasonic Well, that is not OUR choice in the matter. If it was ME, HELL, I would BURN my HD, and get a new one, and give my friend all of my CD's containing **COUGH** Nevermind.. BUT, that's ME. I don't want the DMCA slapping ME with a fine.
I don't know about you, but the RIAA "Scare Tactic" about home invasion next month, MIGHT be just that. BUT, can someone post and say that they are full of it?! I mean, they 'Could' come out to the people that got the letters to actually see if they ARE clean.. Is the DMCA thinking about doing the same tho..
I dunno, that's my $0.02 worth. You asked for advise, and I gave you my advise. It's totally up to you in what you want to do.. Good Luck!!
EDIT: Wording, spelling.. -- AMD Athlon 2400+(Running 38 Degrees C/Idle), MSI KT4V Mobo, 1024 DDR PC3200, 60GIG HD, CD Burner, DVD, and GeForce 4 Ti4200, Fully MODDED!! |
|
  Fraggboy Just Lovin' My Bandwidth . . Premium join:2001-03-04 Woods Cross, UT clubs:
| reply to danno86 said by danno86 : said by Fraggboy : EDIT: What program are they talking about anyways?! Enlighten me on that plz..
eDonkey, one of the many P2P programs out there...check this out for more info: »File Sharing FAQ
No, I meant the file that they were refering to in the letter. I know about eDonkey, KaZaa, etc.  -- AMD Athlon 2400+(Running 38 Degrees C/Idle), MSI KT4V Mobo, 1024 DDR PC3200, 60GIG HD, CD Burner, DVD, and GeForce 4 Ti4200, Fully MODDED!! |
|
  somebodeez Premium,MVM join:2001-09-24 here
·Verizon FIOS
·Comcast
| reply to integra94 said by integra94 : Title: protecting virus prog
If it was software, the RIAA has nothing to do with it. |
|
 XtremepH
join:2003-10-19 Fort Lauderdale, FL | reply to parasonic are they going to be expanding this to mIRC or just current P2P filesharing applications? |
|
  integra94
join:2001-12-15
| reply to integra94 Thanks guys, I just downloaded that file from e-donkey for testing purpose on Oct 26 then i deleted it after a week. What would u write and send Counter mail to Comcast? They know file(filename and size) not my username based on the letter..... |
|
  Fraggboy Just Lovin' My Bandwidth . . Premium join:2001-03-04 Woods Cross, UT clubs: | reply to somebodeez So, is the DMCA getting on the RIAA Bandwagon in finding people, sending letters out, and suing people?! Damn!! :O |
|
  Fraggboy Just Lovin' My Bandwidth . . Premium join:2001-03-04 Woods Cross, UT clubs:
| reply to integra94 That doesn't matter if they don't know your username, they(DMCA), contacted Comcast, which HAS your email address. Email address=IP address=Real Address..
What I would do is go here, which is stated in the email..
said by Comcast Email: For more information regarding Comcast's copyright infringement policy, procedures, and contact information, please read our Acceptable Use Policy by clicking on the terms of Service link at »www.comcast.net
-- AMD Athlon 2400+(Running 38 Degrees C/Idle), MSI KT4V Mobo, 1024 DDR PC3200, 60GIG HD, CD Burner, DVD, and GeForce 4 Ti4200, Fully MODDED!! |
|
  integra94
join:2001-12-15
| Damn, Do you think they really put me in troble since it was a software was not a music file? It was only one file! I am going to write counter mail to Comcast" i just downloaded this file accidently, i do not have this file anymore and i would be more careful next time..... |
|
 rob2421
join:2002-05-10 Marietta, GA | reply to integra94 I received the same letter today also, for using a bit torrent client and having a movie file i actually already had it deleted before i got the letter. but it seems to me they are going to start cracking down on file sharing.. |
|
  integra94
join:2001-12-15 | Thaks, Rob2421 ur posting helped me alot, honestly i was scare to death! im still scare! Rob2421, will u write counter mail to Comcast? By the way i am so mad Comcast disclosed my personal info to DMCA for sharing one illegal file! |
|
  TomClancy Freedom isn't free
join:2003-04-23 ... | reply to integra94 So did anyone get caught for downloading illegal software, music etc... on IRC yet? -- Freedom isn't free! |
|
 nirvy
join:2003-11-16 Saint Paul, MN
| reply to integra94 After looking at this e-mail sent to you, it looks to be very unprofessional. Look at the random capitalization and the missing spaces in some of it... I'd check the headers to make sure it was really received from Comcast or by someone who just dislikes you.
-nirv The Game Gorilla |
|
  integra94
join:2001-12-15 | I hope that was fake! But this letter came from not an e-mail, from U.S.postal service! |
|
  SlyBry Slyest Of All The Brys Premium join:2002-08-26 Manchester, NH
| reply to integra94 I received almost the exact same letter, only I got busted for using a cracked copy of Visual Route. Apparently Visual Route has some built in software that likes to send user's information back to the mother ship. Pretty sketchy if you ask me. -- Confucius say... He who throws dirt, loses ground. |
|
  iBLoStBoY
join:2002-11-29 Carson, CA
| i've gotten 3 letters like these already - from sharing movies on kazaa and even the Harry Potter audio Book..also i've got caught (i think someone reported me - wasn't a bot) for posting a movie using newsgroups.
I don't share english movies or songs anymore on kazaa - Just Music in Urdu - which i'm into anyways
=]
SHARING ISN'T WORTH LOSSING MY ISP OVER. |
|