 | reply to eburger68
Re: Anyone know what spywiper is? IMHO, I wouldn't recommend downloading or installing that app, given their marketing tactics.....
are you referring to not downloading spywiper or ad-aware in that sentence? and if your referring to ad-aware...why? |
|
 StraitShootWho Loves Ya Baby? - Theo KojakPremium join:2003-02-08 Clinton, MA kudos:1 | said by Tech4769: IMHO, I wouldn't recommend downloading or installing that app, given their marketing tactics.....
are you referring to not downloading spywiper or ad-aware in that sentence? and if your referring to ad-aware...why?
He means SpyWiper... Both AdAware and Spybot S&D are pretty much held in high regard around here... -- Stavros, Why are you eating again? |
|
 SchouwPremium join:2003-05-29 Netherlands 1 edit | reply to Tech4769 He's talking about Spywiper..
Edit: too slow |
|
 1 edit | reply to Tech4769 Tech4769:
I'm referring to SpyWiper. Ad-aware is a legitimate, effective "spyware" removal program.
I've done some nosing around. SpyWiper from mailwiper.com is most definitely your problem.
Some complaints on other boards:
EZ spy ware goes over the top »beta.ezboard.com/fezboardadminis···49.topic
Spywiper Ads crashing my computer! »beta.ezboard.com/fezboardadminis···67.topic
spywiper adbot? »forums.spywareinfo.com/index.php···spywiper
default-homepage-network, something keeps changing my homepage »forums.spywareinfo.com/index.php···spywiper
search engine hijacked, under the thumb of odysseus »forums.spywareinfo.com/index.php···spywiper
You'll notice that some of the ezboard complaints also refer to an opening CD-ROM tray. One of the posters at SpywareInfo reports the browser's home page being hijacked to:
»default-homepage-network.com/start.cgi?c001
...which redirects to a SpyWiper ad here:
»default-homepage-network.com/index6.html
Still more interesting, the uninstall page for an OdysseusMarketing app here:
»www.odysseusmarketing.com/uninstall/
...spawns a pop-up for SpyWiper here:
»messagebroadcaster.net/wiper/sw1.htm
All trails lead back to mailwiper.com. A Google search on "mailwiper.com" turns up a number of complaints about spamming:
»www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&···2Bcom%22
...so obnoxious pop-ups wouldn't be completely unexpected from this crew.
In nothing that I've seen so far is there any indication of drive-by-download installs of software, so your users are likely OK on that front. They've just encountered some obnoxious advertising.
Best,
Eric L. Howes |
|