republican-creole
Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » The Site » Old Forums » Adelphia HSI » Email Abuse...but!
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
108
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
update "not for this platform"? »
« Some Questions  
AuthorAll Replies


Sandy

join:2000-08-12
Glendora, CA


3 edits
Email Abuse...but!

Someone is using MY email address (my adelphia.net one).

I've been getting TONS of returned mail (undeliverable) and it's all some ebay spam. The return path shows my email address, but it's not ME sending them out. I went in and changed my email password (even though that won't help, just being cautious), and now I can't log into my web email or my powerpage. (Still can access email thru Outlook though). I've emailed help at adelphia and have gotten no replies. Here's just ONE of MANY emails being returned to me (I've left in all the information on purpose except MY email address. Where it says "RETURN PATH"...MY adelphia.net address is in there):

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

absolutemusic@dj4me.com

------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------

Return-path: my address is here
Received: from [66.143.65.73] (helo=adsl-66-143-65-73.dsl.rcsntx.swbell.net)
by server.securesite5.com with smtp (Exim 4.24)
id 1AdpZW-0004Rb-6O
for absolutemusic@dj4me.com; Tue, 06 Jan 2004 11:40:30 +0000
Received: from [94.202.118.36] by adsl-66-143-65-73.dsl.rcsntx.swbell.net id Ebf5YV4g6Q8e; Tue, 06 Jan 2004 14:38:32 +0300
Message-ID:
From: "My address is in here"
Reply-To: "My address is in here"
To:
Subject: Earn huge money quickly from home... qghx xgwf aqna
Date: Tue, 06 Jan 04 14:38:32 GMT
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook IMO, Build 9.0.2416 (9.0.2910.0)
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="E4____07D2EAE5.B991"
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal

--E4____07D2EAE5.B991
Content-Type: text/html;
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable

order confirmation. your order should be s=
hipped by January, via fedex.
your federal express tracking number is luncheon.

thank you for registering. your userid is:
compartment






Learn to Make A Fortune With Ebay!

Complete Turnkey System
Software - Videos - Turo=
rials


Click Here For Information








click
here if you would not like to =
receive future mailings.


--E4____07D2EAE5.B991--
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I copied the one with this dickwads url (oopsie...can I say "dickwad" here?? LOL)...I've done a "whois" and emailed the tech dept, and of course...SURPRISE...a bogus email. I've emailed his hosting company and anyone else listed on that page (yea...I was pissed). I even went to the affiliate proggy he's signed up with and reported him for spam (TOS thing).

Can I get the boot from Adelphia for spamming? I still haven't recieved a reply from adelphia

Thanks in advance!

Sandy
--
~~Life isn't like a box of chocolates..it's more like a jar of jalapenos.
What you do today, might burn your ass tomorrow~~

Meeble

join:2002-09-19
Champaign, IL
when someone sends an email they can make the return path whatever they want

so i can send an email from meep@peem.com with a return addy of you@yours.net

any failures etc will go to you and not their email they sent it from


Sandy

join:2000-08-12
Glendora, CA

That I understand....but I'm wondering if I can get the boot from Adelphia for Spam. (Adelphia thinking it's ME that's doing this spamming).
--
~~Life isn't like a box of chocolates..it's more like a jar of jalapenos.What you do today, might burn your ass tomorrow~~


MacLeech
The one and only
Premium
join:2001-07-14
SoCal


1 edit
said by email header:
Received: from [66.143.65.73] (helo=adsl-66-143-65-73.dsl.rcsntx.swbell.net)

Looking at the headers of the email, you can tell the email isn't coming from you (or any Adelphia IP).

You're not spamming, somebody putting in your email address as a "Reply to:" address is.

Adelphia won't cut you off for that.

You might want to contact securesite5.com, somebody might be abusing their email servers...
--
Adelphia - Is it working now?


swcox
Adelphia High Speed Internet
Premium
join:2001-11-21
Greeneville, TN

reply to Sandy
I'd suggest you contact the Abuse Dept at SouthWest Bell (swbell.net).

adsl-66-143-65-73.dsl.rcsntx.swbell.net

That is a DSL customer, probably in Texas, spamming using your email address as the Reply-To. Old spamming trick. Makes life miserable for the target, in this case you.
--
...not speaking for Adelphia, just myself...


Sandy

join:2000-08-12
Glendora, CA

said by swcox See Profile:
Makes life miserable for the target, in this case you.

No shit! lol! Okay, emailed swbell and also securesite5.com (along with his hosting company...hahahaha). Hopefully he will regret messing with me (Hey, I can dream right...lol).

Any ideas why I can no longer log into my powerpage or web based email though?

THANKS for those tips...at least his ip# is the same in all the return emails I'm getting!!
--
~~Life isn't like a box of chocolates..it's more like a jar of jalapenos.What you do today, might burn your ass tomorrow~~


UglyDork
Premium
join:2002-01-09
Buffalo, NY
·Vonage


2 edits
reply to Sandy
Reply from 66.143.65.73: bytes=32 time=70ms TTL=238
Reply from 66.143.65.73: bytes=32 time=70ms TTL=238
Reply from 66.143.65.73: bytes=32 time=70ms TTL=238
Reply from 66.143.65.73: bytes=32 time=81ms TTL=238

He/She is online right now...everybody ping him at once (just kidding)

Now that I think of it, this person's PC may have been hijacked and is being used as a spam relay. Another example of why it is good to have a firewall.

LrdVader
Premium
join:2003-12-18
San Diego, CA

According to DSBL, that box has all kinds of open proxies on it:

»dsbl.org/listing?66.143.65.73

So you may want to present it to swbell (actually SBC these days) as "your customer's machine is compromised, you should tell them to clean their machine", rather than "your customer is a spammer, you should kick them off".


Sandy

join:2000-08-12
Glendora, CA

Well, I just emailed their abuse dept...not really requesting them to be "kicked off"...but to get to the bottom of it to get it stopped.

Hopefully their abuse depts will do some digging and contact that person to find out what's up.
--
~~Life isn't like a box of chocolates..it's more like a jar of jalapenos.What you do today, might burn your ass tomorrow~~
Forums » The Site » Old Forums » Adelphia HSIupdate "not for this platform"? »
« Some Questions  


Tuesday, 01-Dec 19:34:08 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [115] Comcast Releasing Promised Usage Meter
· [67] Baltimore To Ban Lazy Cable Installs
· [55] Broadband Killed The Game Console
· [46] Rogers Unveils The ISP Dream Model
· [39] Rural Carriers Quickly Embracing Fiber
· [35] Charter Exits Chapter 11
· [33] AT&T Top Lobbyist Cicconi Has His Feelings Hurt
· [27] ACTA: Global Three Strikes
· [27] Latest Consumer Reports Survey Not Kind To AT&T
· [24] Midcontinent Socked With Easement Lawsuit
Most people now reading
· [Internet] Gaming problem for "Heroes of Newerth" ( New bell Upd [Bell Canada]
· Ooma changing features [VOIP Tech Chat]
· [Phish] email from CDC "personal vaccination profile" [Spam, Scam and Phishbusters]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· IMG 1.7 (IMG Updates and Discussion) [Verizon FIOS TV]
· Heating - my dad gave me this advice... [Home Repair & Improvement]
· Gas Conversion in Old Chambers Range [Home Repair & Improvement]
· Considering Leaving Vonage, who should I Consider? [VOIP Tech Chat]
· Prevx says MS Nov 10 patches causing BSOD problems [Security]
· [Newsgroups] Newzleech down? [Filesharing Software]