dslreports logo
site
 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc

spacer




how-to block ads


Search Topic:
uniqs
22736
share rss forum feed


usa2k
Blessed
Premium,MVM
join:2003-01-26
Redford, MI
kudos:3

1 edit
reply to justin

Re: I quite like this one

Would location list the usual network reference that helps tell if two same name anonymous posts are the same person?

When you are looking at their posts... YES

"About to Give Up
anonymous
cpe.net.cable.rogers"


Weirdal
Premium
join:2003-06-28
Grand Island, NE
kudos:21
reply to justin
now i am confused about the avatars:
the site resizes 40X50 to 40X40, will it resize any size uploaded to 40X40?
are we going to get rid of the 40X50 size forever
--
My blog


justin
..needs sleep
Australian
join:1999-05-28
kudos:15
reply to usa2k
custom tags only apply for registered users.

the site didnt/doesnt resize avatars to 40x40, the IMG tag does (your browser) for custom tags only (so far).


Sparrow
Crystal Sky
Premium
join:2002-12-03
Sachakhand
reply to Weirdal
I just switched my avatar to 40x40 and it looks fine.
Bold works as well.


slash
Premium,MVM
join:2001-03-01
Boston
reply to justin
So far I'm very happy with this feature, but there is one thing I don't like. I don't like how the Posting Tag can be shown separate from the User Name. I think the user name should be displayed either alone, or in addition to the Posting Tag so that there is no confusion on who the poster is.
--
Why not?


justin
..needs sleep
Australian
join:1999-05-28
kudos:15
then you can do so, in your own setup. Use %u %f.


slash
Premium,MVM
join:2001-03-01
Boston
I understand that, and I've done so, but I'm afraid it would lead to confusion for others if they do not have it setup that way.
--
Why not?


nfx
The Wire
Premium
join:2001-05-21
Vancouver, BC
kudos:1

2 edits
reply to justin
said by justin:
the site didnt/doesnt resize avatars to 40x40, the IMG tag does (your browser) for custom tags only (so far).

so our browsers are now re-sizing all avatars to 40x40? I'm guessing because they were too big before..?
%a3
<b>%u</b><br>
<small><b>Joined: %j<br>
DC Teams: %c Level: %L
%t</b>
%h
<b>Spammed: %p
Location: %l <br>
Online: %o</b>
Location isn't working for me..
edit: hmm, all it needed was a little tweaking.
--
====jöîñ tËåm ÐöVË®¥==== // d i g i t a l l y · i m p o r t e d \\


Andy8
B B R Bash Bush Regularly
Premium
join:2002-01-26
::1

1 edit
reply to justin
I like how you can customize the words of what says what, about what too! :D

<center><b>%u</b><br>
<small>%f<br>
%a2</center>
%c<center>%t<br>
</center><HR>
In:%l<br>
Lvl:%L<br>
Rants:%p<br>
Since:%j<br>
%h{<b>Host of</b>:<br>}<br>
Here: %o</small>

--
It's a COOK BOOK!!!


usa2k
Blessed
Premium,MVM
join:2003-01-26
Redford, MI
kudos:3

1 edit
reply to justin
Works for me!


%a3 <center>%u<BR><B>%j</B><BR>%o LEV=%L<BR> <B>%l</B><HR> %t posts=%p<BR>%f



Sparrow
Crystal Sky
Premium
join:2002-12-03
Sachakhand

1 edit
reply to justin
Here's what mine looks like.
Maybe other posters can do the same to give as an idea!

EDIT: I also have "bold" on "%u" that is not showing in the screenshot.


Weirdal
Premium
join:2003-06-28
Grand Island, NE
kudos:21

1 edit

1 recommendation

reply to justin
Is there a character limit or something?
I am using image tags to get the animaated stars worked in there and the url of the image is very long, and it cuts it off :(
if there has to be a character limit, can it say how many characters you have left?
EDIT: this is what i'm talking about:
I put this-
<center>%u</center>
<center><small><b>%f</b></small></center>
<center>%a1</center>
<small><center>online: %o</center>
<center>Posts: %p</center>
<center><img src=http://www.broadbandreports.com/r0/download/497762~fb7b1fff13499eff80cc0e
*7ca2faef17/star_blue.gif>%L<img src=http://www.broadbandreports.com/r0/download/497762~fb7
*b1fff13499eff80cc0e7ca2faef17/star_blue.gif>

(*) WARNING 1 long line(s) split
this is what i get:
<center>%u</center>
<center><small><b>%f</b></small></center>
<center>%a1</center>
<small><center>online: %o</center>
<center>Posts: %p</center>
<center><img src=http://www.broadbandreports.com/r0/download/497762~fb7b1fff13499eff80cc0e
*7ca2faef17/star

(*) WARNING 1 long line(s) split

I guess i could just leave the images out but it looks s pretty with it in :D


GeekNJ
Premium
join:2000-09-23
Waldwick, NJ
Reviews:
·Optimum Online
·Verizon FiOS
Ugh! Trying to get a preview that has an avatar I end up with:

503 Request temporarily denied: too many requests arriving from your IP address. See this page for more information

Any way to show a couple samples with avatars and a couple samples without avatars in each Preview?
--
Have you tweaked your OOL connection?


justin
..needs sleep
Australian
join:1999-05-28
kudos:15
reply to Weirdal
don't even TRY that. You are trying to execute a CGI (/r0/download) for ever single persons info? no way.


justin
..needs sleep
Australian
join:1999-05-28
kudos:15
reply to GeekNJ
use the mod preview button.


lilhurricane
Crunchin' For Cures
Premium,Mod
join:2003-01-11
Purple Zone
kudos:57
reply to justin
This is fantastic...thank you


Weirdal
Premium
join:2003-06-28
Grand Island, NE
kudos:21
reply to justin
said by justin:
don't even TRY that. You are trying to execute a CGI (/r0/download) for ever single persons info? no way.

my bad
--
My blog


GeekNJ
Premium
join:2000-09-23
Waldwick, NJ
Reviews:
·Optimum Online
·Verizon FiOS
reply to justin
Click for full size
One downside I've seen is that for short posts, you still get a full "user" section which wastes a lot of space.
--
Have you tweaked your OOL connection?


Ol Drippy
RIP,,, FRIEND
Premium
join:2003-10-22
Grand Island, NE
kudos:7
reply to justin
Yes, that can be irritating. I am actually using the first code that Justin posted. I like getting all of the information on a user, without going the extra click to their User page. Yet an extra scroll or two is no big deal to me.
--
Each life makes its own immitation of immortality. - Stephen King


usa2k
Blessed
Premium,MVM
join:2003-01-26
Redford, MI
kudos:3
reply to GeekNJ
said by GeekNJ:
One downside I've seen is that for short posts, you still get a full "user" section which wastes a lot of space.

That is my preference to see it all!
--
Jim -- USA2K
Voip on FWD & Vonage
SEE: »www.usa2k.net
[I'm a Grampa twice now! Cameron, and now Caleb!]


GeekNJ
Premium
join:2000-09-23
Waldwick, NJ
Reviews:
·Optimum Online
·Verizon FiOS
reply to GeekNJ
said by GeekNJ:
One downside I've seen is that for short posts, you still get a full "user" section which wastes a lot of space.

As a followup, maybe a variable or tag that can be set to indicate the break point for short posts? Everything above the tag is displayed and what is below the tag is not displayed on the short posts?
--
Have you tweaked your OOL connection?


b0
Shot Drinker
Premium
join:2002-04-16
none
reply to justin
this is gunna be fun....


Weirdal
Premium
join:2003-06-28
Grand Island, NE
kudos:21

1 recommendation

reply to justin
if you put a line in it it looks so much nicer


Sparrow
Crystal Sky
Premium
join:2002-12-03
Sachakhand

1 edit

1 recommendation

said by Weirdal:
if you put a line in it it looks so much nicer

Very nice Weirdal27. EDIT

Did you use the code you posted above?


login name
Premium
join:2000-08-11

1 edit
reply to justin
I like this feature a lot! Thank you.


Weirdal
Premium
join:2003-06-28
Grand Island, NE
kudos:21

2 edits
reply to justin
no
<CENTER><B>%u</B>
<SMALL>%t</SMALL>
%a1
<HR>
<SMALL>Last online: <B>%o</B>
<SMALL><I>%l</I>
<B>%p</B> posts
Level <B>%L</B></CENTER>
(I'll fogive you for getting my name wrong, crystal sky ;))
I left the posting tag out, i see no need for them

--
My blog


state
stress magnet
Premium,Mod
join:2002-02-08
Purgatory
kudos:6
reply to justin
Very nice!

Does the (what appears to be an if statement) %h{foo} only work for the `Host of' variable? I tried using it with reviews and location with no luck...source shows (along with the value of the variable).


GeekNJ
Premium
join:2000-09-23
Waldwick, NJ
Reviews:
·Optimum Online
·Verizon FiOS

1 recommendation

reply to justin
Here's mine in case anyone wants something to start off with:
%a3<b>%u</b><br><small>%t<br>Posts: %p<BR>
Joined: %j<BR>Last: %o<BR>Loc: %l<br>
%h{<hr>Host of:}<hr>%r</small>

--
Have you tweaked your OOL connection?


usa2k
Blessed
Premium,MVM
join:2003-01-26
Redford, MI
kudos:3

1 recommendation

reply to justin
The "My Page" should show others how you format your view


GeekNJ
Premium
join:2000-09-23
Waldwick, NJ
reply to justin
Seems the Preview size table needs to be adjusted. I show more wrapping in the Preview then in actual posts.
--
Have you tweaked your OOL connection?