uniqs
share rss forum feed

Byteblock

join:2004-01-12
Naperville, IL
reply to j23s3afj

Re: My experience with Comcast bandwidth suspension

I got my letter today.

Fortunately I was prepared for this and had already started keeping track of my Usenet usage. (my primary bandwidth hog)

Downloads: 180GB
Uploads: 10GB

And I do not use the old AT&T free servers, or the Giganews 1gig/mo. I have a subscription with a separate premium provider.

I'm really upset by this. I was trying to keep under the theoretical 200gb cap, and I don't upload much at all.

My roommate and I play quite a lot of online games, so it's possible to imagine another 20gb of bandwidth to push us over 200 just from gaming, but honestly I think 20gb gaming is excessive even for us.

Has anyone tried going to the PUC or perhaps contacting local civic utilities commisions? I'm really at a loss as to what to do here. I don't want to go to DSL, but I can't lower my usage anymore than this already.

LrdVader
Premium
join:2003-12-18
San Diego, CA
said by Byteblock:
And I do not use the old AT&T free servers, or the Giganews 1gig/mo. I have a subscription with a separate premium provider.

That might actually be hurting your cause. Using an outside service generates Internet traffic, whereas using Comcast's server shouldn't.

cumcast

join:2003-11-24
said by LrdVader:
said by Byteblock:

That might actually be hurting your cause. Using an outside service generates Internet traffic, whereas using Comcast's server shouldn't.

Comcast's urges you to use giganews, which is an outside source. I doubt using a premium newgroup provider matters.

J D McDorce
Premium
join:2001-12-29
Westland, MI
reply to LrdVader
said by LrdVader:
You could try an experiment - run a tracert to netnews.comcast.net and see if you hit the internet.

LrdVader
Premium
San Diego, CA
said by J D McDorce:
You could try an experiment - run a tracert to netnews.comcast.net and see if you hit the internet.