republican-creole
site Search:


 
   
Adelphia email blocked by SORB
by oOOOo Thursday 15-Apr-2004
»www.timesreporter.com/left.php?ID=28764&r=2

Excerpt:
"Mike Kovalick, commercial development coordinator at Adelphia, said the problem is with the Spam and Open Relay Blocking System.

Though he realizes that someone or a group of people in the Adelphia mail network sent an e-mail that didn’t sit well with the program, he said he still doesn’t know exactly why Adelphia is on the blacklist.

He said Adelphia is being blocked from any server using SORB, not just Tusco.Net."

home

view: topics flat text 
Post a:

oOOOo

join:2001-12-10

ATT was blocking Adelphia email

Some time back, I couldn't push an email to my brother on the attglobal.net. The att node bounced the email back. Resent a few times and it slipped through.

Curious as to what SORB uses to blackball a domain. I know sometimes spammers misuse one of my adelphia email addresses as the reply-to address - nothing I can do about it. Would spam spoofed in such a way trigger SORB? Or is SORB smart enough to only use non-spoof-able things to blackball a domain?

gheezer
Compooters R Us
Premium
join:2002-12-20
Henrietta, NY

3 edits

This is essentially the same story posted twice.

90% of SPAM today is generated through TROJAN COMPROMISED PC's. SORB wants to huff and puff and pretend to be a player, so they Blacklist Adelphia because some compromised PC on Adelphia's network hit a spamtrap? This is nothing but bullsh*t posturing. BARELY newsworthy, as roughly 10% or better broadband connected PC's in North America are infected with some sort of Mass mailing Worm. (I'd have hoped the management of this web site would know this...and post their stories accordingly...)

Figure 40 million Broadband connected PC's in N America, that adds up to maybe 4 Million Open Relays available to spammers and script kiddies in N. America alone. This aint only Adelphia hurting here folks, this is a BAD BAD sign.

AND......

SORB's expects a $50 Dollar Donation too before clearing the blacklisting. So it seems they participate in Extortion too.

Do they even KNOW of the existance of this????:

»www.senderbase.org/
(on-line database of the BIGGEST E-MAIL SENDERS on the internet? Notice Adelphia ins't even close to the top....)

This listing really does highlight the worst of the SPAM problem. All SORBS does is make it more confusing.

What really Bothers me though, is that Adelphia Employee Mike Kovalick may not fully realize how serious this issue of Compromised PC's really is.

oOOOo

join:2001-12-10

Re: This is essentially the same story posted twice.

Interesting link www.senderbase.org, thanks. Lots of candidates for the hosts file.

Speaking of extortion, how does SORB react to legal action?

Is the blacklist still in effect?

Monday, 04-Jun 21:39:18 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.