site Search:


 
   
MPAA Kills TorrentStop, LokiTorrent
by ziggynap Thursday 10-Feb-2005
»lokitorrent.com/, www.torrentstop.com both have been shut down you can see the threats right on the home page of the site:

"is website has been permanently shut down by court order because it facilitates the illegal downloading of copyrighted motion pictures. The illegal downloading of motion pictures robs thousands of honest, hard-working people of their livelihood, and stifles creativity. Illegally downloading movies from sites such as these without proper authorization violates the law, is theft, and is not anonymous. Stealing movies leaves a trail. The only way not to get caught is to stop."

You will be Missed...

home

view: topics flat text 
Post a:
ettevroc28

join:2005-02-16
Baltimore, MD

Threat from Cable Company

Ok, I need the advice of the gurus! I used Azureus for BitTorrent last night for the first time, and promptly got an email from Cox Communications saying my access would be taken away. Here is the letter they sent me, and below that, the letter they received from Sony. They knew exactly which file I downloaded and my IP. Am I just lucky or is everyone getting these, and what steps do you take? Thanks much!

Dear Customer,

We are writing on behalf of Cox Communications to advise you that we have received a notification that you are using your Cox High Speed Internet service to post or transmit material that infringes the copyrights of a complainant's members. We have included a copy of the complaint letter. Pursuant to the provisions of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act ("DMCA"), which is codified at 17 U.S.C. § 512, upon receiving such notification, Cox is required to "act expeditiously to remove, or disable access to" the infringing material in order to avoid liability for any alleged copyright infringement. Accordingly, Cox will suspend your account and disable your connection to the Internet within 24 hours of your receipt of this email if the offending material is not removed.

Please be aware that the DMCA also provides procedures by which a subscriber accused of copyright violation can respond to the allegations of infringement and, under certain circumstances, cause his or her account to be reinstated. To do so, however, the response must meet certain criteria. Pursuant to section (g) of the DMCA (17 U.S.C. § 512(g)), you have the right to submit to Cox a counter-notification which, to be effective, must include the following elements:

(a) a physical or electronic signature of the subscriber;
(b) identification of the material that has been removed or to which access has been disabled and the location at which the material appeared before it was removed or disabled;
(c) a statement under penalty of perjury that the subscriber has a good faith belief that the material was removed or disabled as a result of mistake or misidentification of the material to be removed or disabled;
(d) the subscriberÂ's name, address, and telephone number and a statement that the subscriber consents to the jurisdiction of the Federal District Court for the judicial district in which the address is located.

In the event that you submit to Cox a counter-notification that includes these elements, Cox will forward your counter notification to the complainant and advise them that Cox will cease disabling access to the allegedly infringing material in ten (10) business days. Unless the complainant notifies us that it has filed an action seeking a court order to restrain you from engaging in the allegedly infringing activity prior to the expiration of those ten (10) business days, Cox will reactivate your account.

For answers to frequently asked questions, please follow the link below:

»usercenter.cox.net/custsup/dmca.htm

Sincerely,

Cox Customer Security

--- Original Message ---
Date: Wed, 16 Feb 2005 12:23:49 -0800
From: sony-pictures@copyright-compliance.com
Reply-To: sony-pictures@copyright-compliance.com
Subject: DMCA Notice Unauthorized Use of Columbia Pictures Industries, Inc. Property [Notice ID: 985310]

[Part 0 (plain text)]

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

Cox Communications
1400 Lake Hearn

Re: Unauthorized Use of Columbia Pictures Industries, Inc. Property
Notice ID: 985310
Notice Date: 16 Feb 2005 18:27:52 GMT
Case ID: 2672781

Dear Sir or Madam:

"Columbia Pictures Industries, Inc.", Inc. and its affiliated companies are the exclusive owners of copyrights in motion pictures and television, including the property listed below.

It has come to our attention that Cox Communications is the service provider for the IP address listed below, from which unauthorized copying and distribution (downloading, uploading, file serving, file "swapping" or other similar activities) of "Columbia Pictures Industies, Inc."'s (property)(s) listed below is taking place. We believe that the Internet access of the user engaging in this infringement is provided by Cox Communications or a downstream service provider who purchases this connectivity from Cox Communications.

This unauthorized copying and distribution constitutes copyright infringement under Section 106 of the U.S. Copyright Act . Depending upon the type of service Cox Communications is providing to this IP address, it may have legal and/or equitable liability if it does not expeditiously remove or disable access to the (property)(s) listed below, or if it fails to implement a policy that provides for termination of subscribers who are repeat infringers (see, 17 U.S.C. §512).

Despite the above, "Columbia Pictures Industries, Inc." believes that the entire Internet community benefits when these matters are resolved cooperatively. We urge you to take immediate action to stop this infringing activity and inform us of the results of your actions. We appreciate your efforts toward this common goal.

The undersigned has a good faith belief that use of the (property)(s) in the manner described herein is not authorized by "Columbia Pictures Industries, Inc.", its agent or the law. The information contained in this notification is accurate. Under penalty of perjury, the undersigned is authorized to act on behalf of "Columbia Pictures Industies, Inc." with respect to this matter.

Please be advised that this letter is not and is not intended to be a complete statement of the facts or law as they may pertain to this matter or of "Columbia Pictures Industies, Inc."'s positions, rights or remedies, legal or equitable, all of which are specifically reserved.

Very truly yours,

Sarah Bergman
Compliance Manager
BayTSP, Inc.
PO Box 1314
Los Gatos, CA 95031

v: 408-341-2300
f: 408-341-2399

*pgp public key is available on the key server at ldap://keyserver.pgp.com
Note: The information transmitted in this Notice is intended only for the person or entity to which it is addressed and may contain confidential and/or privileged material. Any review, reproduction, retransmission, dissemination or other use of, or taking of any action in reliance upon, this information by persons or entities other than the intended recipient is prohibited. If you received this in error, please contact the sender and delete the material from all computers.

Notice ID:985310

Title: Spanglish
Infringement Source: BitTorrent
Initial Infringement Timestamp: 16 Feb 2005 15:44:07 GMT
Recent Infringment Timestamp: 16 Feb 2005 15:51:00 GMT
Infringer Username:
Infringing Filename: Spanglish.DVDSCR.XViD-KJS
Infringing Filesize: 1484440293
Infringers IP Address: 68.100.64.7
Infringers DNS Name: ip68-100-64-7.dc.dc.cox.net
Infringing URL: 68.100.64.7:6881/Spanglish.DVDSCR.XViD-KJS
Notice ID: 985310

- ---Start ACNS XML

2672781
New

BayTSP, Inc. for Sony Pictures
Sarah Bergman, Compliance Manager
P.O. Box 1314, Los Gatos, CA 95031 USA
408-341-2300,408-341-2399
sony-pictures@copyright-compliance.com

Cox Communications

1400 Lake Hearn
abuse@cox.net

2005-02-16T15:44:07Z
68.100.64.7
ip68-100-64-7.dc.dc.cox.net
BitTorrent

1
No

Spanglish
Spanglish.DVDSCR.XViD-KJS
1484440293
68.100.64.7:6881/Spanglish.DVDSCR.XViD-KJS
Video

- ---End ACNS XML
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: 8.0

iD8DBQFCE6vU8hjgiIPc43cRAhyLAJ98Qxc3ksAF9BTDEyVIZk/3oMxNzACg0s1S
QdCVdsIrHpIGFkiwihv0mPI=
=gRUt
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

Sunday, 03-Jun 17:42:45 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.