spc
Search similar:

uniqs
sjfeinbe
join:2006-02-11
Saginaw, MI

sjfeinbe

Can't send Email

I have ATT dynamic DSL in Michigan. Been using it for about two years . Today, suddenly, I can't send email from my main account memeber@sbcglobal.net or any of my sub accounts. No setting has changed. I keep getting a message that the server may be down. Can receive mail with no issue. Anyone else having this problem?
sjfeinbe

sjfeinbe

Found the problem! After troubleshooting, I discovered that the SMTP port I've been working on since June of 2007, port 465, no longer works. Instead, I used port 25 and it worked fine! Would've been nice to have received some notice!

nwrickert
Mod
join:2004-09-04
Geneva, IL

nwrickert

Mod

You will probably soon start receiving notices that you should use port 465 (with SSL).

If port 465 no longer works for you, that is likely a problem on your computer, not a change from ATT or Yahoo. (If they had changed that, many people would be complaining).

Check your settings, to make sure that SSL is turned on for port 465. And check your firewall/virus scanner to make sure that they are not interfering with the outgoing email.
gkar2000
join:2003-01-27
Fond Du Lac, WI

gkar2000

I ran into the same problem here in Fond du Lac, WI yesterday. I have been getting frequent errors on pop3 and couldn't send mail on port 465. I switched back to ports 110 and 25 and it works. I'm using Pegasus on Win2k and it worked fine on the SSL ports for a year or more and I have made no changes here.
sjfeinbe
Saginaw, MI

sjfeinbe to nwrickert

to nwrickert
I discovered that it was port 25 that worked because I accidentally set my wife's computer to run on port 25 (SSL) and it has been that way for over a year! Never got a notice about changing to port 465 for that computer. Also, I'm not using a firewall/virus scanner (!) so I know there's no interference there. I have things set up so neither is necessary.
computerman2
Premium Member
join:2002-04-20
Trenton, MI