spc
Search similar:

uniqs
kawaxed
join:2004-08-22
Stockton, CA

kawaxed

[Tweak Test] Optimizing Comcast 6mb download service

Hello, I am relatively new to tweaking braodband connections and have seen some intelligent folks here. So I am asking for help. I recently upgraded to Comcasts 6mb dowload service. It doesnt seem optimized to me. I have drtcip and used the tweak settings. For one thing it tells me to enably my MTU to 1500 which I have done ( Actually set it to 1492 and get 100 efiiciency) but the tweak test will still say set MTU to 1500 ( it even said that when it was). So how do I fix that? Also how can I get to 6mb download speeds. I am only getting around 4.5? here are my test reports

»ttester.broadbandreports ··· a=normal

I have checked for spyware am running Xp pro Sp2 without Windows firewall. I have sygate pro and a Netgear fr114p firewall router. Havent tried without the firewalls as I would like to optimize with them running. Thanks you in advance
kawaxed

kawaxed

Re: [Tweak Test] Optimizing Comcast 6mb download s

Here are the setting in my Dr. TCP

Rwin65535
all others to default with my networking card Mtu set to 1492 as that seems to work the best for me.

Lanik
Lab-nik

join:2001-06-25
San Francisco, CA

Lanik to kawaxed

to kawaxed
You're on a cable connection no need to specify your MTU to 1492 when you can take full advantage of 1500. Go into your router and change your MTU to 1500 under LAN IP Setup. Once you're done:

•Download a file from here note your speed at 40% and post it in your thread.
•Post best of three speed tests from »sfo.speakeasy.net once you reboot your computer.
kawaxed
Stockton, CA

kawaxed

My download speed at 40% was 347kb/sec

1st speed test
»/speed ··· 17261874

2nd
»/speed ··· 17262037

3rd
»/speed ··· 17262068

Again out of curiosity I did a speed test with Mtu @ 1492

»/speed ··· 17262192