»www.pcmag.com/article2/0 ··· 1,00.asp

KoolMoe
Aw Man
Premium Member
join:2001-02-14
Annapolis, MD

KoolMoe

Premium Member

Well, it's not the mess that he claims but he does have valid points. How come IE and Mozilla work with padding/margins differently? Doesn't the standard specify how that should be dealt with? If not, why not!

But I disagree with it being a mess. I'm not an expert at this stuff but know CSS pretty well and there are very few tweaks I need to make to get a layout working in IE just like it does Mozilla...

So it definitely sounds like a rant from someone who doesn't know what they're doing (and needed another subject for his syndicated column) but he does have some good points...

Though I laughed at, "If your Internet connection happens to lose a bit of CSS data, you get a mess on your screen." He must have a pretty crappy connection!
KM

justin
..needs sleep
Mod
join:1999-05-28
Billion BiPAC 7800N
Apple AirPort Extreme (2011)

justin

Mod

my blackberry regularly spits out a ton of stylesheet as text instead of a nicely rendered page (for some sites). Yes it is probably bugs with the blackberry proxy server and style sheet interpretation, but it is very annoying, and has been like this for over a year.

JAAulde
Web Developer
MVM
join:2001-05-09
Frederick, MD
ARRIS SB6141
Ubiquiti EdgeRouter Lite
Ubiquiti UniFi AP

2 edits

3 recommendations

JAAulde to jDyno

MVM

to jDyno
Dvorak is making himself look like an idiot. Now, don't get me wrong--developing cross browser compatible sites can be frustrating. I'm not dogging Dvorak for ranting about browser differences. But to take his platform and mis-represent this technology has knocked him down a few more notches as far as I am concerned.

First, you don't get mad at the technology. You might get mad at the vendors who are not implementing it properly, but not the technology.